We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Excellent accommodation, knowledgable staff on walks, wild life and attractions.
Trips can be arranged from the accommodation. Extremely comforable beds.
Good views of the bay and surrounding area.
Pick up from ferry terminal and drop off really useful.
Take the water taxi to Ulva island and take a camera with you, also do the evening trip to see Kiwis in the evening, well worth doing.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Kia Ora Derek, thanks for taking the time to review the Lodge. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the many wonderful activities on the island. The kiwi spotting trips and cruises to Ulva Island are highlights for sure!
Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

1 star for the comfortable bed.
1 star for a clean comfortable room, ensuite bathroom, tub, shower, and large walk-in closet.
1 star for the friendly staff. Lisa was super helpful with local recommendations for our short stay with no pre-planned plans.
1 star for the tasty continental breakfast.
1 star and then a bonus star for location, location, location. And view. For starters, everything is walkable. But the view from the hilltop is fantastic overlooking the entire bay, fishing boats, church steeple in the distance. We woke up, and we're drinking coffee in bed when we spotted dolphins (without binoculars!). The pod of 6-8 put on an hour-long show swimming around the entitire harbor. Gobsmacked.

Spouse: "Most beautiful place I've ever stayed." Referring to Stewart Island and the lodge in combination.
Me: would I stay there again? Yes, just 10 times longer.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnOregonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thanks for the amazing review! We have passed your comments onto TripAdvisor and asked them to add an extra star for us! :)
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay on the island. We are blessed to live in a place with such amazing wildlife! We really hope to welcome you back to the lodge again in future. Regards, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

To sit on the deck & hear the birds in song, flying around... to see the magnificent views from every advantage point .... to have beautifully appointed rooms...breakfast served by lovely staff.. loved it.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We have to agree.....it really is a slice of heaven here!
Regards, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stewart Island is a wonderful place to go we only stayed one night but two would have been better. Ulva Island is a must. This hotel definitely improved our experience. The rooms all face the same direction overlooking the bay.

Room tip: There are only 6 rooms all have the same great view
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagraham789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hi there and thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at the lodge. We definitely hope to see you again.....this time for two nights!
Regards, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed several nights here and were very comfortable. The rooms are on the large side and several face the beautiful harbor below. There is a guest lounge available with comfortable furniture and binocs for observing the bay and wildlife. Birds abound--we saw several species right from our room and its deck area. Breakfast is served at one table, and is continental, but the kitchen is available if you'd like to fix yourself an omelet to go with the cereals, toast, and yoghurt. The beds are excellent, we thought.

Room tip: Try to get one of the rooms overlooking the beautiful harbor.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judymac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Judy P, thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully the rest of your time in New Zealand was just as enjoyable.
Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews