We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Stewart Island Lodge is located on a steep hill facing Half Moon Bay where the catamarans from Bluff on thevmainland moor. It is spacious with 6 nice rooms to cater for in total 12 people, and good shared facilities for cooking, breakfast and relaxation. All rooms open to a large balcony with seats and parasols and magnificent views over the bay. The brush that covers the steep hills are home to many different species of birds, most notably the NZ pigeon, the tui en the bellbird. A continental breakfast is served every morning and transport to and from the harbour is arranged. There are some excellent restaurants on the island, but the biggest attraction is of course a (guided) tour to nearby Ulva Island, a nature reserve that does not have many equals.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jhelmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your trip to Stewart Island.
Thanks, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This is a lovely lodge with large comfortable rooms (with a nice bathroom and a walk-in wardrobe) and friendly, informative staff. We stayed for three nights. The breakfast was good. Convenient for the ferry and restaurants. It was very welcoming to be met from the ferry.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaveTigerNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Stewart Island was a delightful experience. The one and a bit hour ferry trip across from Bluff was calm and enjoyable. Stewart's scenery is spectacular, the people down-to-earth and welcoming (all 380 of them) and the blue cod superb. Stewart Island Lodge is hard to beat for views, comfort, service and proximity to town, although, be warned, part of the hill to and from town is rather steep. Prince Harry and his entourage stayed here in 2015 and the 6 room lodge would have been an ideal venue for him, in light of the above comments about what it has to offer. The garden attracts lots of native birds which is an added bonus, and the staff are helpful, friendly and unobtrusive. Wendy and Dee were delightful. Stewart Island is known for its 97% national park status. We took a wonderful half day trip to Ulva Island (a 15 minute water taxi trip) with Furhana and Ruggedy Range Tours. Furhana is a scientist who is consumed by the natural wonders of the area and she is exceedingly knowledgeable. We did the 5 km trek around the island which has no predators as such. (You have to check your rats in at the jetty.) We saw the four endangered bird species which were placed on the island many years ago as well as several Weka ( a type of wood hen). We also did a one and a half hour tour around the main township and outlying bays with Furhana. I can certainly recommend her tours. The South Sea Pub is a great meeting spot along the water front, virtually next door to the school and we had two memorable meals over two nights there - and we selected the same thing both nights! (They even drove us up the hill to the lodge on the first night.) Highly recommend the oven baked blue cod with dill sauce. If you are after a get-away from mainland New Zealand, try NZ's third island for a lovely experience. By the way, despite its location at the bottom of New Zealand, it has a temperate climate and doesn't vary too much all year around. In December, we had two beautiful sunny days in the mid 20s.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Robyn, thanks for all the amazing feedback. We are delighted to read your comments and to see how enjoyable your visit was. We would just like to mention we are not associated with Ruggedy Range Tours or the South Sea and I'm sure they would love to read all your positive feedback on their own TA listings too! We are pleased to see that all aspects of your visit to this wonderful place are so highly rated and trust that your time on the New Zealand mainland were just as pleasant.
Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here, and loved it. The rooms are super comfortable and well appointed, I particularly liked the separate luggage room which made it easy to keep the room tidy, and the deep bath after a days walking.
There is a fabulous view down over Oban - the down side is this means a steep hill to walk up and down!
The hostesses were friendly and helpful with plenty of advice on what to do, breakfast was great, with a welcome range of GF options, and there's a nice communal living room. We appreciated being allowed to stay in the lounge after checking out while waiting for our flight.
This place isn't cheap but it was totally worth it.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JoVJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are so pleased to receive this five star rating. Thanks for visiting and hope the rest of your holiday was just as pleasant.
Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stunning location looking out over the bay. Very peaceful. Comfortable room with all you need for a relaxing stay . Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful . Lovely continental breakfast selection . Quick walk from the lodge to the town centre,, but beware of the step hill coming back

Room tip: Anyone as they all have same view
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hondarider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks for the review. We are pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay.
Regards, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews