We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
132
27
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
27
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests dressing room new zealand views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast yogurt local town great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay kiwi encounter the perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

The Lodge is situated to perfectly capture the unique postcard view over Half-Moon Bay from each room's floor-to-ceiling picture windows. Large parrots (kakas) are frequent visitors to the verandah where you can also sit & drink in the views, weather permitting.

Our suite (number 3) was beautifully appointed with the best bed I've ever had (king size) an enormous heated bathroom, a wide range of tea, coffee, other hot drinks, chocolates, complimentary bubbly, and daily-replenishing Kit-Kats. I believe all rooms are very similarly equipped.

Breakfast in the shared dining room was a great opportunity to meet other guests and share tips and advice. But the best source of advice was from our host Wendy. She is a treasure!

My only suggestion for improvement would be to have a small coffee table in the bedroom/lounge.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shanes319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We took the ferry over to Stewart Island on our 3rd day of our second unforgettable trip to New Zealand. I had made the bookings for the ferry and the Lodge before we left on our holiday, and I'm glad we did, because even though it was the shoulder season, things book up quickly there being such a small island. Anyway, when we arrived at the Lodge, we couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. Insane view of the bay, very tastefully decorated rooms; in fact, much better in person than the pictures capture. The large shared balcony that is outside all the rooms is fabulous, and we enjoyed sitting out and chatting with the other guests. The kitchen and dining area (inside and out) for use by the guests, as well as where the continental breakfast is served is very well appointed and quite comfortable; they also have a nice big barbecue (the other guests had gone fishing and shared some of their catch with us!). The continental breakfast was excellent with lots of choices of fruit, yogurt, toast and cereal; and nicely laid out by the staff. Speaking of the staff, they were so friendly and provided such good info on the island and all there is to do there. We just loved chatting with them. The Lodge sits on a hill with quite a steep climb to get there from the main road (hence the great view!). We enjoyed the exercise (everything is hilly in Stewart Island), but some people might find it a bit trying; however, they offer to shuttle guests around town if needed; back and forth to restaurants, and of course to and from the ferry. Conveniently, both the Stewart Island Lodge and the Stewart Island Ferry are owned and operated by the same company, Real Journey's. My only complaint, which is somewhat personal taste, is that the bed wasn't as comfortable as it could have been. It was quite a hard mattress and I think a nice memory foam topper would have made it just right. My husband, however, didn't mind the bed. We enjoyed Stewart Island and the Stewart Island Lodge so much, that we stayed another night! A wonderful island to visit with so much to do; and the Stewart Island Lodge really complemented our stay.

Room tip: All six rooms are great!
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmmandPete50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Wonderfully comfortable lodge with only about 6 rooms. Great views over the harbour. A fairly steep walk (but short) up to the lodge but they meet you at the ferry in a van, and give you a brief tour of the town before taking you to the lodge. They also take you and your luggage down to the ferry on check out. Enthusiastic friendly host (Lisa) at the lodge with lots of ideas and tips on what to do around the area. Large comfortable rooms and huge bathroom including bath. Enjoyable breakfast with the other guests trading stories of places visited. Only stayed one night, was so tempted to change our plans and stay more. We’ll be back!

Room tip: All rooms have great views. The breakfast room / lounge is in the middle so some rooms are closer to that than others.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JWTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This is a comfortable but unpretentious lodge with marvellous views over Oban bay.The bedrooms are well-furnished; the breakfasts are excellent; and the staff are friendly. It has hosted royalty; so what more is there to say or to wish for?

Room tip: all excellent
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

PaulJanet, Thanks for taking the time to post your positive review of our lodge. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We recently stayed 1 night at the Stewart Lodge. This is the place to stay on Stewart Island. The views are amazing and the bed is the best bed I ever slept in! Loved our stay. Every morning and evening we got greeted by the Kaka, one of the native birds on our balcony. It is a bit of a steep walk to the lodge but town centre is just a few minutes walk. In the morning breakfast is provided and the hosts provide a lot of information about activities and walks. We loved our stay and we definitely be back!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne_1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Sanne81-12, We appreciate your five star review and look forward to welcoming you again to the lodge. Thanks again, Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews