We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

We would highly recommend the SI Lodge. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and we were made to feel right at home with the use of the lounge and other facilities. Lisa was extremely welcoming and very helpful with booking tours - in fact she sorted us out on our first day, for which we were very grateful!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Mary N, Thanks for your five star review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Lisa is always complimented on her welcome and local knowledge. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We took the ferry over and were picked up at the dock and driven to the Lodge ... which we didn't think we needed until we learned that it was very kind as the street was very steep to walk to our lodge with our bags. (We appreciated the walk all of the other times!) The space was all it needed to be. There was a little porch to watch the sun come up, enjoy coffee or a glass of wine. The views are amazing as they sit above a bit and can look down at the bustling little village. We did book a water taxi to Ulva Island through the hostess at breakfast and went off schedule for an additional $5 but it was well worth it. Even bird watching and listening to the birds at the Lodge was a treat. If you get a chance, as for directions to the smoked salmon and if there is by chance bar trivia. It was a great time all around!

Room tip: The room on the end closest to the road is where the van parks and people walk to the rest of the accommodations. Not as private.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Lindsay M, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We get lots of very positive reviews about the birdlife that visits the Lodge garden. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

You can expect amazing views from the elevated position of the lodge. The rooms face the view and are a decent size. Wi-fi is free. Rooms don't have fridges or tea and coffee-making facilities, but these are available to residents in the property's kitchen. Breakfast is served in the dining room and is of the continental, help-yourself variety. There is a very steep little hill up to the property.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank LancashireMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

LancashireMouse, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

When asked about the best part of our recent visit to NZ (out of so many highlights) I have to say Stewart Island. We stayed at Stewart Island Lodge as part of a Real Journeys package which included the ferry crossing from Bluff and the Paterson Inlet cruise/Ulva Island visit. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the view fantastic. Everything about our visit exceeded expectations and I only wish we could have stayed longer. And the weather was perfect too!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hants2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Hants2urist, Thank you for reviewing our lodge and so pleased it exceeded your expectations. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

My wife and I were not looking for a lazy beach getaway. We wanted an experience of a lifetime and we weren't disappointed. From the time they picked us up at the dock, they were amazing to us. They knew our itinerary without telling them and that we were doing a shark tour. They knew the best restaurants and the best areas to get local beer, oysters and smoked salmon.

Having breakfast with the staff, hearing stories about the island, learning where the best tracks were was the best part. Sitting on the porch and interacting with the local birds was highly memorable. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone and hope to return soon

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Clint H, We appreciate your five star review and look forward to welcoming you again to the lodge. Kind regards Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews