We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
60

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
855
274
64
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
855
274
64
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Our guides were excellent and made the whole adventure exciting. On the boat we spotted a rare penguin and other birds. They offered binoculars during the boat trip and torches/flashlights for the trek through the bush on our kiwi hunt. We saw 4 kiwi which was very exciting. We rather felt like thrives in the night the way we had to be so quiet, it was a hoot! A great time, glad we spent the money.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're thrilled to hear that you had such an exciting adventure on the Wild Kiwi Experience! It's fantastic that our guides made the trip memorable and enjoyable for you. Spotting a rare penguin and other birds must have been a special treat. Seeing four kiwi was undoubtedly an exciting highlight, and we're glad you enjoyed the thrill of the quiet nighttime exploration. Thank you for choosing to spend your time on Stewart Island with us, and we hope to welcome you back for more thrilling adventures in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

Many thanks for the great day. Thanks to the skipper for the boat ride, Sarah and Jan for the tour on the island. It was great to see the seals and Mick for his strong πŸ’ͺ getting us on and off the boat ☺️

Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great day on Ulva Island. We'll be sure to pass along your appreciation to Sarah, Jan, and the rest of the team. We truly appreciate your visit and hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

We had the best time on this tour! We saw kiwis and lots of other wildlife on the boat part of the tour, the guides were so engaging and had so much knowledge of the animals and local area including cultural history! The hot drinks and biscuits was such a lovely touch as well! Would recommend bringing lots of layers as was chilly even in summer!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Olivia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

We're thrilled to hear that you had the best time on the Wild Kiwi Encounter and that you were able to spot some wild kiwis, along with other wildlife. It's fantastic to know that our guides provided engaging commentary and shared their extensive knowledge of the animals and local area with you. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024

We saw penguins, seals, sea lions, albatross, pied shags and kiwis!! The guides could not have been more accommodating or enthusiastic. Really worth the money in my opinion. My only advice would be take lots and lots of warm clothes and layers as the weather changes very quickly even in summer.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank RoJo1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Thank you for sharing your incredible experience with us! It sounds like you had a truly memorable adventure, spotting such a diverse array of wildlife including some wild kiwis! We're thrilled to hear that our guides provided excellent service and enthusiasm throughout your tour. We appreciate your visit and hope to welcome you back for more kiwi encounters in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

Well organized tour with penguin, sea lion and seal watching from a boat, free coffee/chocolate/tea and easy guided night walk where we saw two kiwis. There is additional layers and jackets on the boat if you feel i
like you are not warm or dry enoughY

Thank Fish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Thank you for recommending the Wild Kiwi Encounter as a must-do experience on Stewart Island! We're thrilled to hear that you managed to observe two kiwis in their natural habitat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews