We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
54

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Ulva Island is an incredible place to see birds and fauna. Natasha worked really hard to find birds for us to see and was very knowledgeable about their calls. We saw piwakawaka/fantails, yellow heads, NZ pigeon, kaka parrots and parakeets. We heard a bellbirds call. A fantastic place to visit with a guide.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank OnAir44773039820
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience on the Ulva Island Explorer! We're thrilled to hear that Ulva Island, known for its incredible bird and fauna, lived up to your expectations. Ulva Island is indeed a fantastic place to visit with a guide, and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for more nature adventures in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023

We explored Stewart Island with RealNZ in the evening to look for Kiwi. What made the whole experience so special was how hard the guides, Karen and Natasha, worked to find nature for us to see. We were blessed on the boat ride with seeing Fjordland, yellow-eye and blue penguins, sea lions, fur seals and a albatross. On the beach walk in the dark we heard a Morepork owl. Our guides managed to find a kiwi and we got to see it for several minutes. A fantastic experience that all nature lovers should do.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank OnAir44773039820
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023


Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with the Wild Kiwi Encounter! We're delighted to hear that the guides, Karen and Natasha, made the whole adventure special by working hard to find and share the island's unique wildlife with you. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back for more memorable encounters with Stewart Island's wildlife in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Our guide Rhys was terrific and informed us about the history of the island as well as showing us the beautiful beaches and view points in the vicinity of the road network on the island. We got super extra service when we saw a sea lion on a beach and reversed back to view it a little closer. Excellent guide.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank philippab1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for more island adventures in the future!





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2023

Well worth taking this tour for the local knowledge. Our guide was delightful and gave us so much information about the island life and where to go. A good activity when you first arrive.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank LynetteR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Starting your visit with this tour sounds like a great way to get acquainted with the island. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for more delightful experiences in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023

Nick, Jane & Karen.
What a grouse trio. Max professionalism & good banter. Just a bunch of kind & hospitable people, piloting a rare experience.
The whole evening from essentially being the only peeps on the boat, missioning out, punching down teas, copping a righteous sunset, bumping into an albatross (not physically) & disembarking on to the destination island was next level.
We ran into a bunch of kiwis on the beach & sat & observed for yonks.
It was perfect.
We got to see their poop through a thermal lens & copped a sniff too. It's meant to be metallic but all it seemed was exotic.
Get amongst it.

The stars from the island are notable too. Just being away from the bustle of life & strolling with good people in the natural world was so grounding.

Thanks, legends.
Soul food.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Jarrod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Wild Kiwi Encounter! Strolling with good people in the natural world away from the bustle of life is indeed grounding, and we hope to welcome you back for more extraordinary encounters in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews