We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
54

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,235)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveller rating
841
274
63
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
841
274
63
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2023

Saw heaps of birds and learnt a lot about the plants too. However, the thing that made our experience was being chased by a sea lion who popped out of the water. I've travelled all around the world but never seen anyone as crazy as you Kiwis! Most people would run when a big animal charging at you from the ocean. But not you kiwis. Our guide Brit had the sea lion approach her within less that half a meter. While this was happening one stupid tourist which didn't listen fell over breaking her camera. It was utter chaos. Brit remained calm giving instructions to the group and talking to the sea lion (again crazy kiwis) getting us all to safety. Got some amazing footage if anyone wants to see it. I showed to all the Germans who thought she was crazy too.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Tobybecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

This was a really good experience. We were fortunate that the weather was good for our visit, and that we saw quite a few birds, but above all we were lucky to have such a brilliant and engaging guide in Natasha. She really knows her flora and fauna and was able to point out and explain all kinds of things we would never have noticed by ourselves.

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the Ulva Island Explorer! 😊 It's fantastic to hear that you had a great experience, especially with the fortunate weather and the abundance of bird sightings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Great day for a boat trip and hike on Ulva Island. Our guide was very knowledgeable of all the tree plants and birds. We didn't see alot of birds . Our trip was a 45 minute tour of the island. There are other boats that take you there drop you off and come back latter for pickup. I think thistle of year that it does not run as offen. As we are in the off season which starts Oct 1. But its nice not being crowded

Thank jimfranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your review of Ulva Island! 😊 It's wonderful to hear that you had a great day for a boat trip and a hike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2023

A big thanks to Britt for saving our holiday! We came down to Stewart Island for a week and unfortunately hit the worst weather possible. Britt went completely above and beyond to make sure we had the best experience possible and were able to make the most of our time on Ulva. It was the highlight of our trip and our bucket list moment!!

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023


Thank you for sharing your review of Ulva Island! We will certainly pass on your kind words to Britt, and we appreciate your visit. We hope you'll consider returning for more unforgettable moments in the future. 🏝️🌟

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2023

It was great to see the township of the island by bus and hear the heritage about it from the driver.,Who was friendly and informative 👍

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RealNZ_Aotearoa, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

We appreciate your kind words and hope you had a wonderful time on Stewart Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews