We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
54

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

A nice hour long trip over to the island. Pleasant staff made our experience better. Interesting talking to the captain on the trip.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Voodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

Voodles, thanks for your five star review of our ferry service. We pride ourselves on the quality of our staff and we are pleased to hear that they made your experience better. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019 via mobile

Took the Stewart island ferry from bluff to oban in early March. The bus picked us up at the Tuotara Lodge in Invercargil. Bus driver was friendly and regaled us with tales as we headed for bluff. The ferry loading was fast and efficient and soon we were on our way. The crossing was pretty rough with 25 knot winds and 3m seas. Many on board got seasick quite quickly, but the crew was fast and kept it all well under control. The trip took a bit over an hour. The crew said this was a normal crossing and it can get quit worse! Lots of sea birds to view as you cross the Foveaux strait. The return trip was less harrowing with 1m seas. Same happy bus driver met us at bluff and took us back to Invercargil.
Well run operation. A great way to get to Stewart Island.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank Urs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip. We were collected from our accommodation promptly at the given time. Our driver Curlz and guide Thomas were extremely knowledgeable and the trip was accompanied by a commentary en route. Various sites were pointed out and were were told we would stop at them on the way back , which we did. Thomas continued to be our guide on the cruise element. We originally booked the Scenic cruise but so glad we upgraded to the Nature one, thanks to Curlz for her help with this last minute change Thomas provided us with facts, figures and Maori legends, all of which added to the experience.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank GrannySG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

We highly recommend booking the Milford Track day trip with Real Journeys. The cruise out over lake Te Anau is beautiful and the walk is well worth it. Our guide - Thomas - was fantastic. He was really friendly and informative. He showed us heaps about the local area, fauna and Flora.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank rachaeld648
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

Josephine is a local and was our driver/commentator on this small bus tour around the island. Josephine's was very passionate about her island and her maori pronunciation was superb. If you're pressed for time or just want to fill in time, this is a great way to see the island and learn a lot about its history. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Totrue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Totrue B, We are so glad that you booked onto our Village & Bays Tour with Josephine. She has a wealth of local knowledge about the island and its history. As you say, it is a great way to see the island, so thanks for recommending us. The Stewart Island Experience Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews