We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
61

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveller rating
856
274
64
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
856
274
64
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2019

A one hour pleasant trip in a catamaran delivered us to Oban town wharf, and because it was raining we headed straight for the lovely South Sea Hotel where they served up the most tender fresh blue cod cooked in thin crisp beer batter.

Once the rain stopped we strolled up the road to their excellent Museum, well worth the $2 entry.

Around the corner is The Boathouse Theatre where for $10 we saw 'Lola'. A locally made movie narrated by a dog. Lola herself was hiding under the counter so we got to meet the star.

A walk to 'Bathers Beach',a big golden sand beach which was a surprise as we didn't expect golden beaches on Stewart Island.

On the return journey we saw albatross swooping. A lovely ending to the day.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

mary h, Thanks for detailing your trip to Stewart Island. We can't always control the weather, but we are pleased to hear that your catamaran ferry ride with us to Oban was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you to the island again in the future. The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

I must admit I was a bit hesitant at first, as I knew that we’d be going to a location later in our trip that had glowworms on site. The boat ride over to the cave included a commentary that seemed to be like “going through the motions”. Visiting the actual Glowworm cave in Te Anau, however, exceeded my expectations. I found it most interesting to be educated about the glowworms and to experience the phenomenon of seeing the caves “light up” with these creatures. I found even their “fishing lines” to be beautiful. Equally fascinating was the experience of being inside that mountain, complete in all these rock formations and waterfalls. Real Journeys has adapted a “ride” created by Mother Nature that is more amazing that anything at Disney!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We booked return on the ferry for our holiday and we were pretty impressed going over(in spite of swell maps on google looking pretty bad) and the strait was pretty flat.

Coming back today was windier but the captain and boat performed very well. Imagine our horror though when we realized that they had left our luggage in the bin on the island. We put it where we were told so it was definitely their fault. Lucky for them we were stopping in Invercargill over night so it caught up with us5 hours later!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Hilary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Hilary51, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that your luggage missed your return ferry to Bluff. We sincerely apologise. We will be looking at our procedures, how this happened and ensure that it won’t occur again. We will follow up with the Stewart Island team as we take all feedback seriously. We hope that you still have good memories of Stewart Island from your trip. The Stewart Island Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

The girls at the check-in desk at Bluff we rather friendly as were the crew on the ferry. While travelling to the Island, the skipper pointed out some birds and also that we could see the island in the horizon despite the clouds. The ride itself was rather choppy we went up and down lots but that was all part of the fun!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank luckyme2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2019

The other day I went on a guided walk up to Ackers point with Robyn as our guide. Along the way, Robyn pointed out different trees and explained how they had been used by the Maori people back several years ago and also shared how even she uses these plants for several things. I was surprised that there is a certain type of seaweed that she even uses as a substitute for pasta! Robyn also pointed out different birds and their call and was very knowledgable about everything we encountered.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank luckyme2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews