We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
56

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
845
274
63
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
845
274
63
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2019

We had superb weather and the crossing both ways was a doddle. Have done crossings in the past with BIG seas and it can be an assault on the nerves! The crew as ever were slick and super well organised. As I have seen previously, those who sit towards the front and cant see outside tend to get sea sick, so sit towards the back, or even stand up, will reduce chances of seasickness dramatically.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank stevem7620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

Our visit to Stewart Island in December was great. Excellent accomodation at Jimmy's cottage, a great morning fishing with Squiggy, carving Greenstone with Dave at Rakiura Jade, some walking and excellent food, drink and chat at the South Sea Hotel. Well worth visiting this beautiful, QUIET and interesting Island.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2019

Expensive but well worth the overnight experience, trip across Lake Manapouri was smooth and narrated by Ian. The bus ride over the pass was narrated by adriverbJohn with a dry wit and the Fjordland Navagator trip was magical. The staff was very friendly, the servers xengreat and the educational program narrated by Carol fantastic can’t fault the food either.
We enjoyed two bright sunny days in the sound but experienced a wide range of temperatures from morning to night.
This is a magical place.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank rhagberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

This was a day to remember - collected by bus from our site, brought to ferry to sail over lake Manapouri, coached over Wilmot Pass and then ferry to mouth of Doubtful Sound.
Well organised itinerary, fantastic scenery. An excellent day trip (9.30am collection to 6.30pm drop off) by a well run organisation.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank ChrisS390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2019

We took the Stewart Island flight from Invercargill arriving about 9.20am for a day trip and immediately booked the bus tour of Oban township and roads, to be followed by the bay tour to Ulva where we had an hours guided walk in the rain forest with a very knowledgeable and nice guid who loved the place, all the staff on the boat were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. An excellent way to see as much as possible of the island in a day.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank BMG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews