We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
54

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2019

This is a very different type of tourist experience. Leaving by boat at 9pm we were lucky enough to see seals and penguins along the way. Then a two hour tramp around in the bush with two excellent guides, Erin and Robyn, and we saw two kiwis going about their nightly business very close up. Arrived back at our accommodation about 1.30am exhausted but very happy. Highly recommended but you need to be reasonably fit and mobile. Not kid friendly.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank ODW300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

ODW300, thanks for your review. Yes, it can be a tiring trip, but in your case highly recommended because you saw penguins, seals and kiwis. Erin and Robyn are excellent guides and their expertise is paramount in finding the kiwis each night. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. The Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

We used the SI Experience shuttle to get to and from Golden Bay, for our Ulva Island trip. No worry about getting to the ferry on time. Our driver was waiting when we got off the ferry, and happily dropped us at the door of our accommodation.
During our all-too-short time on Rakiura, we dealt with a number of different staff. All were friendly and informative.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank andreajnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2019

This tour is an excellent way to get a feel for those parts of the island accessible by the 27km of sealed road.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank andreajnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2019

We have just spent nine weeks in New Zealand and enjoyed a lot of tours, but the wild kiwi encounter was by far the best. We not only learnt a lot we had the most exciting time first with a encounter with a seal and then seeing four kiwi our tour started at 8.30 and finished at 1.30
The ferry ride across, the lodge we stayed in and the tour was amazing and our tour guides John and Ollie was very informative.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Resort554845
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2019

What a great experience! Everything was really well organized and the cave was AMAZING! It's a must do if you're in the Fjordlands. The guides were well versed and educated on glow worms and the boat ride to the cave was peaceful and beautiful. I highly recommend!!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank smsmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews