We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
54

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
842
274
63
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Had an amazing time today on our trip to Doubtful Sound. Very efficient check-in, bus transfer and loading/unloading the two boats, and all very well maintained. Special mention to Malcolm (the really cheery bus driver) and to our awesome nature guide on the boat (I can’t remember his name, but he was originally from Chile!) for his very informative commentary, and also encouraging everyone to take a moment of silence (whilst the boat engine was cut) as we drifted through Crooked Arm, taking in the views and watching some bottlenose dolphins swim past. Really lovely moment in such a special place. The scenery is just incredible, and if you see a pod of dolphins and a load of fur seals like we did, extra bonus! Thank you 😊

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank lisaloumarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

This is as fabulous service between Stewart Island and Bluff but the journey is totally weather dependant. It can get really rough out there and if you prone to sea sickness bear that in mind - its not pleasant. On a calm day its very enjoyable. The boat is clean and well maintained and the staff are excellent and do what they can for the passengers.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Joyce767
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

From the Lake Manapouri harbor there was a very pleasant lake crossing; then a surprisingly smooth bus drive (steep and curvy gravel road) and then the Sound cruise itself (abt 3 hrs, incl some time in Tasman Sea). It was all very well organized, the staff was very knowledgeable and gave really interesting insights into the sights, the vehicles and vessels were top-notch modern and comfy. All well worth the cost, a very memorable experience!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank OwlQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Fantastic family day out. From start to finish the Real Journeys staff have been friendly and energetic for the people and passionate about their piece of paradise. Highly recommend this wonderful day out!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LynneG658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

We took the ferry for a day return. It’s very quick and comfortable but the prices are very high. They offer free tea and coffee

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank FabAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews