We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulva Island Explorer from Stewart Island
60

Book in advance
from
$119.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience RealNZ
from $119.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
855
274
64
26
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
855
274
64
26
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound across lake manapouri wilmot pass informative commentary bus driver day trip ulva island bird life crew crossing bluff milford cruise boats terminal scenery fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

There are not many places in NZ offering the unique experience of seeing kiwi's in the wild and Stewart island is the perfect environment.
The bush walk was easy and informative and to see two kiwi feeding on the beach was a huge bonus.
Thoroughly enjoyed to tour and the guides were experienced and enthusiastic.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paradise826669
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Sally, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwi in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are thrilled you experienced that with us.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This is amazing, our guides Olly and Johnny were great, So knowledgeable and made the whole experience fun. We saw 2 Kiwi and got some great footage. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to go to Stewart Island.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Karen, Thank you for your recommendation. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Olly & Johnny.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time on the trip! Saw: yellow eyed penguin, blue penguin, albatross, brown skua, possum, morepork and 2 kiwi! The presentation was interesting and the staff are super friendly. I can't believe these reviews saying that just because the staff are young they're inexperienced....not at all true, they found and heard animals that no one else did! They heard, spotted and identified EVERYTHING. They were brilliant especially Erin. I went on another tour with Erin as the guide there too, (Ulva Island Guided Walk) and she found bellbirds, saddlebacks, robins, parakeets, tui, weka, blue penguins before anyone else even knew where to look.
Seeing the kiwi was incredible and made my entire trip, thank you!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jesssenior24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwis in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are delighted you experienced this with us. We pride ourselves with our people and so are very happy to hear Erin was knowledgeable, exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to pass on your feedback.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This was just an amazing time, from the background lecture to the additional things we saw like deer, albatross, penguins and of course the kiwi.

Have to say that I enjoyed the walk through the Forrest and clear moon and star filled sky so much.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank ColmGLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Colm, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great experience.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

trip over given wee talk as we left Bluff. Very rough trip & Skipper & staff did best to make us comfortable. Can't see out front but has a screen to see where you are & depth of sea. Highly recommend sealegs!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bionickate2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Bionickate2016,
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Yes, it can be a little rough at times, but then as you mention we have a very hospitable crew. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews