We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$34.36
More Info
from US$103.77
More Info
from US$69.42
More Info
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
38
19
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
19
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews informative commentary our tour guide great tour extensive local knowledge national park hour tour couple of hours guided walk kylie stops bays oban history summary island maori acquainted
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2019

We took the Stewart Island flight from Invercargill arriving about 9.20am for a day trip and immediately booked the bus tour of Oban township and roads, to be followed by the bay tour to Ulva where we had an hours guided walk in the rain forest with a very knowledgeable and nice guid who loved the place, all the staff on the boat were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. An excellent way to see as much as possible of the island in a day.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank BMG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2018 via mobile

I visited the island for the first time for little more than 24 hours and managed to fit so much in, this tour being the start. I love how knowledgable the tour guide (so sorry I didn’t take note of his name) was feeding us with all sorts of little facts and it was apparent how fond of the place he was. Lovely to see some of the beautiful spots around and I absolutely cannot wait to come back to spend more time on the island!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank VictoriaH3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 days at the island. Arrived at 10.45am and left the next day at 3.30pm. enough time to see the sites. We took the bus on the 1.5 hour tour and covered all the roads. The island has 27 kms of roads and 350 kms of walking tracks with most of the island part of Kakiura National Park. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had photo opportunity during the trip where we got to get off the bus. Good way to see the sights and learn the history

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank mollymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Kia Ora Kiaussi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5-star review. We are so happy to hear of your enjoyable trip. Our guides love to share their knowledge and stories to ensure a memorable experience for all guests. Thanks again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The tour was by van as there were only four of us. Tour took just on 90 minutes and was a great way to see parts of the island we would not have seen otherwise, and also to get an insight into island life and the history of the area. Our tour host Ollie was a good guide and knowledgeable about the history. The stop at Lee Bay was interesting to see and have a quick walk about. The only down side was there was no stop at the salmon place, given it's not really in walking distance, and to stop there for five minutes would have added great value to the tour.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank TAGman810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Kia Ora Tagman810,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the trip. We pride ourselves in having some of the best guides in the region and appreciate the feedback. We will certainly review your suggestion to see if this can be accommodated for the future.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

This is the first trip After I landed on the island. Once I finish the tour I feel like I already know everything about this island. We had a very nice and professional lady guide who show us around on a comfortable van. She introduced everything including the natural things and some common information on the island also the story of the island. For a 45 dollars for this tour I reckon it’s very valuable and easy relax not tired. Good for every age level of tourists. Families, couples and freedom travelers.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank NicoleChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for the amazing review. We are so pleased you took the time to explore Stewart Island with us. The tour is so informative and people love learning about this beautiful, often overlooked corner of the world.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews