We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
from US$35.75
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
42
21
5
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
21
5
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour photo opportunity national park real journeys driver visitors oban history island information introduction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Stewart Island has very little in the way of roads and most if not all are in Oban, Whilst the young lady who drove the van was friendly and appeared to be well versed in the history of the area, this short trip is expensive at $90 per couple. Bike, scooters and even a small car can be hired for less and if time permits gives travelers the opportunity to explore more of the area than is covered on the tour.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Our ferry arrived late due to late departure of service and fog. We arrived in time for bus to commence tour late and still be back in time for it's 1pm service but the 11am trip was cancelled by operator despite the fact that the fog had completely cleared. This meant that passengers who wanted to do the Ulva Island tour at 1pm were not able to do both as bus was only doing the 1pm tour that day. For the high price tag, I feel they should have given better customer service. Also, there was poor communication by operator about what was happening. A number of people were waiting at the bus for a driver when a tourist informed them that the tour was cancelled. A note would have been helpful. I have emailed Stewart Island Experience but have not received a reply. The island is beautiful, it's a pity that we didn't see more in the limited amount of time we had.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank ChiChiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're disappointed to see this trip did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. It sounds like our communication could have been clearer for which we apologise. Hopefully the rest of your time on the island was enjoyable. Regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A great tour of the populated areas of Stewart Island. I'd definitely recommend this trip for your first day to get acquainted with the island and what there is to see and do. Tons of information and beautiful stops along the way. So much more history here than you'd ever expect.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank mafouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for the five star review. We're delighted to see how much you enjoyed your trip with us.
Regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We booked a one hour tour of Stewart Island and was met by a pleasant lady who escorted us to her mini bus.

We were taken to all the places of note and she provided an informative commentary. Unfortunately she came across as an automated telephone response as if she were reciting a pre prepared script. There was no effort to engage her audience in any meaningful way and her delivery lacked any personality whatsoever. That’s not a sin but when anyone attempted to ask a question the response was invariably to almost chastise the questioner for daring to interrupt her speil.

10 out of 10 for content and driving, 3 out of 10 for the delivery, 0 out of 10 for responsiveness. A recorded message would have been as effective.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Binkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are disappointed to read how the trip failed to live up to your expectations and that you felt underwhelmed with your guide on the day. We will be sure to pass this feedback on as we pride ourselves in delivering a fantastic guest experience from start to finish.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We really enjoyed the tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and took us to all the wonderful places around the island. It was fascinating to listen to her extensive local knowledge and it really helped us to appreciate the island despite the bad rainy weather and gale force winds. It truly is a little gem at the end of the world!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BillieB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi there and thanks for the review. We're thrilled to see how much you enjoyed this experience, despite the weather! Hopefully you can come back again in better conditions!
Regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews