We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great overview tour of Stewart Island”

Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.39*
and up
Stewart Island: Village and Bays Tour
Ranked #7 of 16 Tours in Stewart Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore Oban village and its surrounding bays on a minibus tour with a local guide. This tour provides an intriguing insight into how Stewart Island’s tiny community survives – and thrives – while living in the heart of the ‘Roaring Forties.” From the entrance of the Rakiura National Park at beautiful Lee Bay, up to Observation Rock for panoramic views of Paterson Inlet and off-shore islands. Ideal for first time visitors to the island.
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

This was a great introduction to the Island The our guide was very knowledgeable about the Island. Our daughter has a mobility issue and even she was able to participate in the short walk that this tour includes.

Thank Meegan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Kia Ora Meegan, thanks for taking the time to post this five star review. We are delighted to hear how mu your family enjoyed this trip around Stewart Island.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 4 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"extensive local knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"national park"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"kylie"
in 9 reviews
"stops"
in 5 reviews
"oban"
in 14 reviews
"history"
in 19 reviews
"island"
in 40 reviews
"acquainted"
in 3 reviews
"maori"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 5 reviews
"overview"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 3 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

Stewart Island has very little in the way of roads and most if not all are in Oban, Whilst the young lady who drove the van was friendly and appeared to be well versed in the history of the area, this short trip is expensive at $90 per couple. Bike, scooters and even a small car can be hired for less and if time permits gives travelers the opportunity to explore more of the area than is covered on the tour.

1  Thank NI_Travellers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Our ferry arrived late due to late departure of service and fog. We arrived in time for bus to commence tour late and still be back in time for it's 1pm service but the 11am trip was cancelled by operator despite the fact that the fog had completely cleared. This meant that passengers who wanted to do the Ulva Island tour at 1pm were not able to do both as bus was only doing the 1pm tour that day. For the high price tag, I feel they should have given better customer service. Also, there was poor communication by operator about what was happening. A number of people were waiting at the bus for a driver when a tourist informed them that the tour was cancelled. A note would have been helpful. I have emailed Stewart Island Experience but have not received a reply. The island is beautiful, it's a pity that we didn't see more in the limited amount of time we had.

Thank ChiChiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're disappointed to see this trip did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. It sounds like our communication could have been clearer for which we apologise. Hopefully the rest of your time on the island was enjoyable. Regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A great tour of the populated areas of Stewart Island. I'd definitely recommend this trip for your first day to get acquainted with the island and what there is to see and do. Tons of information and beautiful stops along the way. So much more history here than you'd ever expect.

Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for the five star review. We're delighted to see how much you enjoyed your trip with us.
Regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We booked a one hour tour of Stewart Island and was met by a pleasant lady who escorted us to her mini bus.

We were taken to all the places of note and she provided an informative commentary. Unfortunately she came across as an automated telephone response as if she were reciting a pre prepared script. There was no effort to engage her audience in any meaningful way and her delivery lacked any personality whatsoever. That’s not a sin but when anyone attempted to ask a question the response was invariably to almost chastise the questioner for daring to interrupt her speil.

10 out of 10 for content and driving, 3 out of 10 for the delivery, 0 out of 10 for responsiveness. A recorded message would have been as effective.

Thank Binkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are disappointed to read how the trip failed to live up to your expectations and that you felt underwhelmed with your guide on the day. We will be sure to pass this feedback on as we pride ourselves in delivering a fantastic guest experience from start to finish.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing