We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascintating Overview”

Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.07*
and up
Stewart Island: Village and Bays Tour
Ranked #7 of 16 Tours in Stewart Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore Oban village and its surrounding bays on a minibus tour with a local guide. This tour provides an intriguing insight into how Stewart Island’s tiny community survives – and thrives – while living in the heart of the ‘Roaring Forties.” From the entrance of the Rakiura National Park at beautiful Lee Bay, up to Observation Rock for panoramic views of Paterson Inlet and off-shore islands. Ideal for first time visitors to the island.
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A great tour of the populated areas of Stewart Island. I'd definitely recommend this trip for your first day to get acquainted with the island and what there is to see and do. Tons of information and beautiful stops along the way. So much more history here than you'd ever expect.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for the five star review. We're delighted to see how much you enjoyed your trip with us.
Regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 4 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"extensive local knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"national park"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"kylie"
in 9 reviews
"stops"
in 5 reviews
"oban"
in 14 reviews
"history"
in 19 reviews
"island"
in 40 reviews
"acquainted"
in 3 reviews
"maori"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 5 reviews
"overview"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 3 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We booked a one hour tour of Stewart Island and was met by a pleasant lady who escorted us to her mini bus.

We were taken to all the places of note and she provided an informative commentary. Unfortunately she came across as an automated telephone response as if she were reciting a pre prepared script. There was no effort to engage her audience in any meaningful way and her delivery lacked any personality whatsoever. That’s not a sin but when anyone attempted to ask a question the response was invariably to almost chastise the questioner for daring to interrupt her speil.

10 out of 10 for content and driving, 3 out of 10 for the delivery, 0 out of 10 for responsiveness. A recorded message would have been as effective.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Binkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are disappointed to read how the trip failed to live up to your expectations and that you felt underwhelmed with your guide on the day. We will be sure to pass this feedback on as we pride ourselves in delivering a fantastic guest experience from start to finish.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We really enjoyed the tour and our guide was very knowledgeable and took us to all the wonderful places around the island. It was fascinating to listen to her extensive local knowledge and it really helped us to appreciate the island despite the bad rainy weather and gale force winds. It truly is a little gem at the end of the world!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BillieB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi there and thanks for the review. We're thrilled to see how much you enjoyed this experience, despite the weather! Hopefully you can come back again in better conditions!
Regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

From the moment we boarded the bus, we were drawn in by Kylie, our driver and tour guide who generously shared her extensive local knowledge and stories with us all. She drove us to some lovely spots and told us about life on the island throughout its history from the perspective of one who has been born and bred there. She helped us to appreciate what the Island has to offer and just how big it actually is... how unspoilt most of it remains, and how lucky we are to have such careful and passionate guardians on the island to ensure it stays that way for ever...We had a great time with her on the bus and before we knew it, we were back where we had started! Thank you for the lovely morning we shared with you Kylie - we will remember it fondly for a long time!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I am a tour driver from Wellington.
This was my first visit southern NZ lncluding Stewart Island. I was travelling with Twilight Travel. I was asked if I would like to join group going to Island. YES. YES.
Kylie was our guide. She was fantastic. Her knowledge. Her passion for the Island. For the people.
We flew over & myself plus one couple returned by ferry.
All the staff be it aircraft. Red shed or ferry where very helpful & friendly.
There is more to Stewart Island than you may think. It is much bigger than the weather map would have you believe.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank GraemeI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hi Graeme, thanks for taking the time to post this fantastic review. We are so pleased to hear how much you all enjoyed your visit to us here in Stewart Island, it truly is a hidden gem and we are delighted you took the time to explore!
Kind Regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing