We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
35
18
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
18
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour informative commentary our tour guide extensive local knowledge national park hour tour kylie stops oban history island acquainted maori information overview insight parts
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The guide, a life-long local, was wonderful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our bus tour of the island. There are only a few miles of pavement available, and this tour pretty much gets you around to see all there is that can be seen. You'll have the background info you need to appreciate your visit.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Judymac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Knowing we didn't have a lot of time on Stewart Island we booked this tour. Very pleased we did as we went to spots that we would not have walked to. Our Tour Guide was very knowledgeable about the island as she was brought up there. Good history and interesting facts provided.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Margm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

This short tour is a good way to find out about the island. The guide really knows his stuff and has a good sense of humour. The information is succinct and gives visitors an idea of what they can do during their time on the island; other tours/trips, swimming, etc. An interesting stop was Lee Bay, where you can see the predator-free fence close up and see the effect the wind has on vegetation (all the foliage on one side of the taller trees due to wind).

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank bruzer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Dear Madam/Sir,

RE: Village and Bays Tours of the Stewart Island is a total sightseeing package for the island.

The journey lasts for about couple of hours and shows us around the various significant and approachable places.

The tour guide gives all the required information regarding the islanders, their way of life and a brief history of their beliefs.

The tour started at the half moon bay visitor terminal outside the souvenir shop.

The bus drove us around the beaches where the whole town gathers for events such as birthday or a marriage.

The bus tour shows the other Observation points explaining the varieties of plant species and the importance of conservation for the islanders.

The tour guide stressed on the importance the islanders give to their habitants and showed us a few rare birds.

More than the destination the tour linked the cultural and ethnic background of the life at Stewart Island.

Thank You

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank vrangad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful tour ... guided by a relaxed, friendly and very knowledgable driver.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank JeffW835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews