We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
from US$36.03
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
42
20
5
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
20
5
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour photo opportunity national park real journeys driver visitors oban history island information introduction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Knowing we didn't have a lot of time on Stewart Island we booked this tour. Very pleased we did as we went to spots that we would not have walked to. Our Tour Guide was very knowledgeable about the island as she was brought up there. Good history and interesting facts provided.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Margm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

This short tour is a good way to find out about the island. The guide really knows his stuff and has a good sense of humour. The information is succinct and gives visitors an idea of what they can do during their time on the island; other tours/trips, swimming, etc. An interesting stop was Lee Bay, where you can see the predator-free fence close up and see the effect the wind has on vegetation (all the foliage on one side of the taller trees due to wind).

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank bruzer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

This was a wonderful tour ... guided by a relaxed, friendly and very knowledgable driver.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank JeffW835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The tour is 1.5 hours and covers just about all of the islands roads. The tour guide was very informative and the tour was a great way to see a summary of things. Do this first in your trip to the island as you will get tips on things to do.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank jasonjb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

A great informative tour of all the high spots around Oban. One and a half hours in a comfortable bus. Plenty of photo stops. Highly informative commentary from our host driver. There we only the two of us on the bus this day but this did not deter our driver who gave us the full treatment, in fact I think we got a bit extra ! A must do experience when visiting Stewart Island.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews