We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Village & Bays Tours - Stewart Island Experience
from US$35.84
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
42
20
5
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
20
5
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour photo opportunity national park real journeys driver visitors oban history island information introduction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed this bus tour. It was very interesting and I learnt quite a bit about the Stewart Island/Rakiura. Oban is such a cool little community! I really recommend this especially if you want to learn more about the Stewart Island.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Aimee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Having taken the ferry over, we’d just a short walk to get onto the bus for the Island tour. After seeing the narrow roads I’m glad we opted for the tour rather than hiring a car and negotiating the tight, narrow roads.

The guide was very informative and answered everyone's questions on the 90 minute tour. There are a few scheduled stops on the way and a few impromptu stops too for photos.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

A grey day and we decided to take the opportunity for the tour of the island. Not having a vehicle we had limited ourselves to attractions within walking distance and those we could reach by boat. This tour took us to parts of the island we hadn't been able to reach, with great views and some interesting history as part of the package. Recommend this as part of your visit to the island.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank SueW238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Took this tour recently and was lucky enough to have a tour guide/driver Chris who had lived on Stewart Island for 18 years. She was a wealth of knowledge and easy to listen to. She had a sense of humour. I think we travelled most of the roads on the island. We saw beautiful bays, beaches and bush. The tour was advertised as being an hour and a half long and it was exactly that. We were able to get out of the bus on occasions to take photos. I thoroughly recommend this tour and hope you are lucky enough to get Chris as the driver/guide.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Judith777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We took the bus tour as a way to see more of the island. Fabulous guide (Kylie) whose knowledge of and passion for Stewart Island were obvious. Lots to see and interesting information shared along the way. A great way to see this beautiful paradise.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews