We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
from US$56.81
More Info
from US$56.81
More Info
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways sea sickness rough seas sick bags return trip tea and coffee sea legs hour crossing rough ride efficient service before departure great trip blue cod blue penguins bluff crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2019

A one hour pleasant trip in a catamaran delivered us to Oban town wharf, and because it was raining we headed straight for the lovely South Sea Hotel where they served up the most tender fresh blue cod cooked in thin crisp beer batter.

Once the rain stopped we strolled up the road to their excellent Museum, well worth the $2 entry.

Around the corner is The Boathouse Theatre where for $10 we saw 'Lola'. A locally made movie narrated by a dog. Lola herself was hiding under the counter so we got to meet the star.

A walk to 'Bathers Beach',a big golden sand beach which was a surprise as we didn't expect golden beaches on Stewart Island.

On the return journey we saw albatross swooping. A lovely ending to the day.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

mary h, Thanks for detailing your trip to Stewart Island. We can't always control the weather, but we are pleased to hear that your catamaran ferry ride with us to Oban was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you to the island again in the future. The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

We booked return on the ferry for our holiday and we were pretty impressed going over(in spite of swell maps on google looking pretty bad) and the strait was pretty flat.

Coming back today was windier but the captain and boat performed very well. Imagine our horror though when we realized that they had left our luggage in the bin on the island. We put it where we were told so it was definitely their fault. Lucky for them we were stopping in Invercargill over night so it caught up with us5 hours later!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Hilary51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Hilary51, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that your luggage missed your return ferry to Bluff. We sincerely apologise. We will be looking at our procedures, how this happened and ensure that it won’t occur again. We will follow up with the Stewart Island team as we take all feedback seriously. We hope that you still have good memories of Stewart Island from your trip. The Stewart Island Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

The girls at the check-in desk at Bluff we rather friendly as were the crew on the ferry. While travelling to the Island, the skipper pointed out some birds and also that we could see the island in the horizon despite the clouds. The ride itself was rather choppy we went up and down lots but that was all part of the fun!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank luckyme2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019

Yes they told us this is the most rough sea in NZ, but hey we are sailors as well.......
So check-in at the terminal 30 min before departure to change our voucher in a ticket. Left the luggage in a luggage cart. Lots of seats in the boat. Quiet sea so were lucky. Free tea and coffee on board. The journey took 1 hour.
Parking available 41 hours NZ 30,-
Return journey after 2 nights, Sunny day, but not expected very rough sea. All the ladies were sick, the host was running with cold towels and sickbags, but we were with too many. We left the boat with a green face........
We decided upfront not to take the bikes at the boat, too much trouble for 2 days, but it is possible to take your bike for only NZ 5,- per bike one way. Book it in advance.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank MTBChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

You can only get to Stewart Island by flying or by ferry. You could say the ferry ride was a bit rough the day we traveled. On the up side the ferry is very safe and the staff very friendly and helpful

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank ManDoFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews