We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Review Highlights
Cruise & Ulva Island

Well, we’d like to thank Jon from this team, for being fantastic when we found ourselves in a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Agapantha56
,
Greymouth, New Zealand
Good but pricey

The cost of transport is a bit steep. $79 per person each way. It's a catamaran and is a bit... read more

Reviewed 25 February 2021
TambonzRobertson
,
Waipu, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 494 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$72.42
More Info
from US$35.84
More Info
from US$145.57
More Info
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways sea sickness rough seas sick bags return trip tea and coffee sea legs hour crossing rough ride efficient service before departure great trip blue cod blue penguins bluff crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Very calm on the way over mad for a very smooth trip. The wind had picked up a little in the afternoon but still pretty good. Professional and hospitable crew members.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Kia Ora and thank you for the review. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to our crew. Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Going from Bluff to Stewart Island, I was quite surprised at the swells. Luckily, the crew was excellent. Extremely professional, checked up on everyone, and helped out a little girl who got sick. Boat was clean, spacious, and quite cold--to help those feeling a bit nauseous, but bring a jacket if you get cold easily.

If you take the first ferry out on the way back, you'll get some amazing views of the sunrise. I'd recommend getting to the ferry terminal a bit early to appreciate it!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank AJ625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you AJ625! The Foveaux Strait can certainly be a bit rough at times but we pride ourselves in having the best team and it is always a pleasure hearing they are constantly providing the greatest service to ensure our guests are always comfortable and happy. Thank you for travelling with us and we hope to welcome you on board again soon.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

As any body of water will do, Foveaux Strait can become quite challenging; however, the boats and equipment utilized, along with knowledgeable and experienced crews ensure a safe passage. If treated as a Disney "E-ride" the thrills only add to the overall experience.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank georgekP2608HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Kia Ora George,
Thank you for a lovely review. We agree - the thrills sure do add to the experience.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

trip over given wee talk as we left Bluff. Very rough trip & Skipper & staff did best to make us comfortable. Can't see out front but has a screen to see where you are & depth of sea. Highly recommend sealegs!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Bionickate2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Bionickate2016,
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Yes, it can be a little rough at times, but then as you mention we have a very hospitable crew. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Great way to travel from Bluff to Stewart Island. Our trip was lovely cursing at 20 knots in a lite sea.
Thanks for a great experience.
Colin and Lyn Olds

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ColinO553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Colin and Lyn, thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We hope to welcome you aboard again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews