We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
from US$103.92
More Info
from US$59.69
More Info
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
257
138
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
138
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways rough crossing sick bags tea and coffee sea sickness return trip roller coaster hour crossing rear deck wild ride sea legs smooth ride motion sickness secure car park lucky with the weather wet towels
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This is 1.5 hour ferry ride was very smooth. The skipper was so professional. Interior was very neat and clean. My luggage arrived safely. The scenary was nice as well.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank minimize940314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

minimize940314, thanks for posting your 5 star review. The ferry on average takes about 1 hour one way. Glad you found everything neat, clean and professional.
The team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

The sea conditions on the trip to the island was very rough with large swells running but the skipper made sure we got the smoothest ride possible. The ferry itself was comfortable with plenty of room when seated. Overall impressive!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

LXW, it can be a little rough at times, but then, as you mention we are professional and have a very hospitable crew. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
The team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Lovely travel on the cat. A little rough for the other of our party that came over the next day but with wonderful staff on board and assistance , all was good. Even the non seafarers..would highly recommend

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank sooz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

sooz03, thanks for highly recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back on board our ferry in the near future.
The team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Crossed in strong winds with 5m waves—thoroughly enjoyed it!
Crew were on hand and attentive to those feeling ill.
Journey back was far more comfortable in calm seas.
Would highly recommend!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank VictoriaS4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Victoria S, thanks for taking the time to post your 5 star review. Yes, it can be a little rough at times, but the "superb crew" are well versed with the conditions and being attentive during the crossing of the Foveaux Strait - glad that you thoroughly enjoyed it!
The team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We had a great trip over to the island but as the weather deteriorated the return trip was canceled. With an early morning crossing still planned we found the ferry well suited to the Deep South conditions
Great crew n skippers

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Kruuza, Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. We are very happy to hear you had a lovely experience with our hospitable crew. Yes the weather can be temperamental sometimes but like you pointed out all is well that ends well. We look forward to welcoming you back on board for another trip to Stewart Island.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews