We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
from US$56.81
More Info
from US$56.81
More Info
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways sea sickness rough seas sick bags return trip tea and coffee sea legs hour crossing rough ride efficient service before departure great trip blue cod blue penguins bluff crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Our crossing from Bluff to Stewart Island was a little rough. The return trip the next day was a bit smoother. So much so the Skipper handed the wheel over to one of the other staff members. I can only hope she was in training. However it was a little disconcerting to see the Skipper looking towards the back of the boat for most of the trip. I think next time, I’ll fly.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We were lucky to travel over on a fine day, and not much wind. The captain of the vessel was able to provide a commentary and points of interest to us as we travelled over. The catamaran was clean. Staff at both terminals provided excellent service.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Gee8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We did the crossing in springtime, but the weater had been really bad for a few days. We were told by numerous people "you'll have a rough crossing" and we didn't really know what that entailed.
First of all, when we got to the ferry many of us were surprised that it wasn't really a ferry. You know, the kind that carries cars and trucks. It's more of a boat. It only carries people, and luggage obviously.
Our journey started off smoothly, but very quickly turned into a rollercoaster. The waves were massive and at times we felt like we were flying. A few of our group that tended to get motion sickness were not happy, but the staff were very helpful in suggesting what to do and handing out cloths of cold water. Even people who don't normally feel sick at sea were feeling a bit rough by the end of the 1 hour journey. The main thing is that the staff is friendly and helpful.
Our crossing to go back the next day was much smoother and even the people prone to motion sickness felt fine.
I think it very much depends on the day of crossing so you can never be sure what kind of waves you will get.
Forget about doing a bunch of extreme sports in NZ, just get the ferry on a windy day. That's all the adrenaline you'll ever need!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank evitaveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review your trip. We are pleased to see that you were well looked after by our team on the day. The conditions in the Foveaux Strait can indeed vary based on the what the weather is doing. Hopefully you had a fantastic time on the island and we hope to see you again in future.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The crossing from Bluff to Stewart Island was very comfortable and peaceful but it was a different story on the return journey when the seas were rough. The skipper was very experienced but it was pretty scary at times and it certainly made me feel queasy despite taking a seasickness tablet before. We were later told that this stretch of water, the Foveaux Strait, is one of the most dangerous crossings in the world so I certainly wouldn't be doing it again in a hurry!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BillieB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Only had coffee at hotel.
Others in group raved about there blue cod meals....
Friendly staff
Right on beach front
You look out of resturant onto bay.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank GraemeI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews