We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Steward Island”

Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.65*
and up
One-Way Ferry from Bluff to Stewart Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stewart Island Experience operates daily ferry service between Bluff and Stewart Island all year around. Stewart Island is New Zealand's ultimate eco-tourism destination and the location of Rakiura National Park. During the one hour ferry crossing, keep a look out for the Mollymawks (Albatross) that often follow the vessel. Daily coach connections operate between Bluff and Invercargill, and in summer also to Te Anau and Queenstown (summer only).
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Was picked up from the Invercargill Airport and dropped off at the wharf in Bluff. An 'interesting' trip to Oban-wind and waves but we were all well looked after by the crew!! Left and arrived on time. Loved the bins for the luggage-most efficient

Thank dawnmcsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"foveaux strait"
in 33 reviews
"both ways"
in 19 reviews
"rough crossing"
in 12 reviews
"return trip"
in 24 reviews
"tea and coffee"
in 9 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 8 reviews
"wild ride"
in 8 reviews
"rear deck"
in 5 reviews
"sea legs"
in 5 reviews
"hour crossing"
in 5 reviews
"sea conditions"
in 4 reviews
"motion sickness"
in 4 reviews
"secure car park"
in 4 reviews
"lucky with the weather"
in 4 reviews
"pleasant trip"
in 6 reviews
"efficient service"
in 8 reviews
"great ride"
in 5 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Our crossing from Bluff to Stewart Island was a little rough. The return trip the next day was a bit smoother. So much so the Skipper handed the wheel over to one of the other staff members. I can only hope she was in training. However it was a little disconcerting to see the Skipper looking towards the back of the boat for most of the trip. I think next time, I’ll fly.

Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We were lucky to travel over on a fine day, and not much wind. The captain of the vessel was able to provide a commentary and points of interest to us as we travelled over. The catamaran was clean. Staff at both terminals provided excellent service.

Thank Gee8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

We did the crossing in springtime, but the weater had been really bad for a few days. We were told by numerous people "you'll have a rough crossing" and we didn't really know what that entailed.
First of all, when we got to the ferry many of us were surprised that it wasn't really a ferry. You know, the kind that carries cars and trucks. It's more of a boat. It only carries people, and luggage obviously.
Our journey started off smoothly, but very quickly turned into a rollercoaster. The waves were massive and at times we felt like we were flying. A few of our group that tended to get motion sickness were not happy, but the staff were very helpful in suggesting what to do and handing out cloths of cold water. Even people who don't normally feel sick at sea were feeling a bit rough by the end of the 1 hour journey. The main thing is that the staff is friendly and helpful.
Our crossing to go back the next day was much smoother and even the people prone to motion sickness felt fine.
I think it very much depends on the day of crossing so you can never be sure what kind of waves you will get.
Forget about doing a bunch of extreme sports in NZ, just get the ferry on a windy day. That's all the adrenaline you'll ever need!

Thank evitaveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to review your trip. We are pleased to see that you were well looked after by our team on the day. The conditions in the Foveaux Strait can indeed vary based on the what the weather is doing. Hopefully you had a fantastic time on the island and we hope to see you again in future.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The crossing from Bluff to Stewart Island was very comfortable and peaceful but it was a different story on the return journey when the seas were rough. The skipper was very experienced but it was pretty scary at times and it certainly made me feel queasy despite taking a seasickness tablet before. We were later told that this stretch of water, the Foveaux Strait, is one of the most dangerous crossings in the world so I certainly wouldn't be doing it again in a hurry!

Thank BillieB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

Stewart Island, Southland Region
 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing