We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Review Highlights
Cruise & Ulva Island

Well, we’d like to thank Jon from this team, for being fantastic when we found ourselves in a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Agapantha56
,
Greymouth, New Zealand
Good but pricey

The cost of transport is a bit steep. $79 per person each way. It's a catamaran and is a bit... read more

Reviewed 25 February 2021
TambonzRobertson
,
Waipu, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 494 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$72.42
More Info
from US$35.84
More Info
from US$145.57
More Info
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
301
156
28
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways sea sickness rough seas sick bags return trip tea and coffee sea legs hour crossing rough ride efficient service before departure great trip blue cod blue penguins bluff crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2016

On the way over we went on a smaller boat which was great fun. It was a little choppy but there were lots of birds to see. On the return journey we were on a bigger boat the sea was calmer but it didn't seem to ride the waves as well as the smaller one. A place you would probably only visit once in your life so worth doing everything.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank RATZnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

I know you can't control the wind and this journey we were told was pretty usual. I think if we knew we would have flown.
The island is worth visiting, but check the weather before you travel. Mid summer day, 5 degrees centigrade and very very windy, lots of people being sick. Impressed by the staff who dealt with everyone very professionally.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank micheleh256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Very helpful staff. Open to all the questions asked about the crossing. Gave us a good tip for dinner on the island. Thank you.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank AnitaCampari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

The crossing is short but potentially exposed to considerable wind and swell. The catamaran is handily stable no matter the weather.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Pleasant trip with a drink and enjoy the views especially as you get closer to the island. Polite and knowledgeable crew. To get sea sick on this I think it would have to be very rough

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews