We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience
from US$59.60
More Info
from US$103.90
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
241
134
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
134
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foveaux strait both ways rough crossing return trip tea and coffee roller coaster wild ride rear deck sea legs hour crossing sea conditions motion sickness secure car park lucky with the weather pleasant trip efficient service great ride
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2015 via mobile

Our experience was ok, we found the customer service a bit lacking in areas. There were no announcements made to the waiting customers so we were left in the dark as to why we were late in leaving Bluff. Fortunately our crossing both ways was pretty smooth. However going to Stewart Island we were sitting by the skipper and had to put up with an unhappy staff member complaining to him about a work situation for about half the trip, we weren't very impressed with this being aired publicly.
On the return trip we all checked in - about 60 pax - but there was only seating for 3 people. In the waiting passengers there were older people, there were people who walked with crutches or walking sticks but no where for them to sit. This experience could be made better with a bit more focus on the customer after all we are the ones bringing money to the business.

2  Thank Jsp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to read about your experience with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and sincerely apologise that it was lacking on the day you took the ferry to Stewart Island. We have passed your comments on to the operations manager.
We continually review our service and facility and very much appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards
Real Journeys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We were lucky with the weather as the sea was smooth. On a rough day the experience might be different. We took the bus transfer from Queenstown to the ferry and to Te Anau from the ferry. These all worked very well and the connections worked easily. Very has a interesting way of handling baggage which means that it is all taken from and delivered back you with no effort on your part. We had a little bit of guiding on the way over which added to the interest of this little sea cruise. Complimentary tea and coffee.

Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Vincent W, Thanks for posting a review about the Stewart Island Ferry. Kind regards, The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We parked our car at Bluff and took the ferry to the island and vice versa. The ferry is clean and comfortable with toilets (clean) on board. There is a bar with snacks and soft and alcoholic drinks on board at fair prices. The skipper was user friendly and happy to answer any questions. Very punctual and luggage loaded and unloaded very efficiently.

1  Thank Clayelect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Clayelect, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your trip with us. Kind regards, The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

My husband loved the ride being craned on and off the ferry, wish I could have had a turn too!
It's a lovely trip, the crew are great and give entertaining and informative commentary.
We had 2 fairly smooth trips especially the return trip, they also ran right on time.

Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Manager at Stewart Island Ferry - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Deb P, Thanks for your feedback. Kind regards, The Stewart Island Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Our trip in either direction was enjoyable with surprisingly little swell and turbulence. We were sorry we had not realised we could have received a 20% discount by purchasing our tickets when we took the day tour with the same company to Doubtful Sound. Tickets are expensive. The complimentary coffee was appreciated. Parking at $8 was fairly expensive I thought as the other choice is to pay to be picked up.

Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews