We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Be prepared for a great night out

We joined the Real Journeys launch at the Oban Township jetty and were given an introductory talk... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
RonP967
,
Greenfield, United Kingdom
Exceptional Tour! Just do it!

Beyond the fact that we did indeed see the elusive Kiwi on this tour, I want to thank Real Journeys... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kiwinesstours
,
Matakana, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$103.80
More Info
from US$69.43
More Info
from US$34.37
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
33
6
0
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
6
0
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split into groups real journeys digital camera muddy conditions introductory talk milky way magical experience single file yellow eyed penguins new zealand knew where couple of hours boat trip great trip guided walk johnny robyn
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

Robyn and Bevan were fantastic guides and made this trip informative and memorable. Great sightings of penguins and kiwi. Lucky enough to hear the kiwis very loud call!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 304debrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

304debrag, Glad to hear that your evening included sightings of penguins and kiwi. We get a lot of positive reviews about how informative and knowledgeable our guides are - especially Robyn and Bevan. We will pass your comments on to them. Thanks for our five star review. The Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

I am from Invercargill and ashamed to admit this is the first visit to Stewart Island in 20 plus years..I wanted to learn as much as possible so asked at The Red shed what they would advise..I was given the Kiwi Night tour and the next day Ulva Island.. both at great prices and tied in with making sure I got back in time for ferry home.. wow wow wow .Oli and Robyn were amazing guides.Its obvious Oli is very passionate about the wildlife as well as being professional and courteous. These two made a great trip amazing ..Drew was our nature guide to Ulva .we were given a look at the Salmon and mussel farms as well as given some history on the island's. Once again amazing views but was made the trip special was the commentary from our guide and the customer service of all the staff including Ryan while driving...Real Journeys you have some amazing staff..

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank dawnmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Kia Ora Dawn,
Like they say...no time like the present! Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed this trip and even more happy to hear our team team made a great trip amazing. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Oli, Robyn, Drew and Ryan. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

There are not many places in NZ offering the unique experience of seeing kiwi's in the wild and Stewart island is the perfect environment.
The bush walk was easy and informative and to see two kiwi feeding on the beach was a huge bonus.
Thoroughly enjoyed to tour and the guides were experienced and enthusiastic.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Paradise826669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Sally, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwi in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are thrilled you experienced that with us.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This is amazing, our guides Olly and Johnny were great, So knowledgeable and made the whole experience fun. We saw 2 Kiwi and got some great footage. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to go to Stewart Island.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Karen, Thank you for your recommendation. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Olly & Johnny.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time on the trip! Saw: yellow eyed penguin, blue penguin, albatross, brown skua, possum, morepork and 2 kiwi! The presentation was interesting and the staff are super friendly. I can't believe these reviews saying that just because the staff are young they're inexperienced....not at all true, they found and heard animals that no one else did! They heard, spotted and identified EVERYTHING. They were brilliant especially Erin. I went on another tour with Erin as the guide there too, (Ulva Island Guided Walk) and she found bellbirds, saddlebacks, robins, parakeets, tui, weka, blue penguins before anyone else even knew where to look.
Seeing the kiwi was incredible and made my entire trip, thank you!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jesssenior24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwis in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are delighted you experienced this with us. We pride ourselves with our people and so are very happy to hear Erin was knowledgeable, exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to pass on your feedback.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews