We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Be prepared for a great night out

We joined the Real Journeys launch at the Oban Township jetty and were given an introductory talk... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
RonP967
,
Greenfield, United Kingdom
Exceptional Tour! Just do it!

Beyond the fact that we did indeed see the elusive Kiwi on this tour, I want to thank Real Journeys... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kiwinesstours
,
Matakana, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$103.80
More Info
from US$69.43
More Info
from US$34.37
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
33
6
0
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
6
0
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split into groups real journeys digital camera muddy conditions introductory talk milky way magical experience single file yellow eyed penguins new zealand knew where couple of hours boat trip great trip guided walk johnny robyn
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This is amazing, our guides Olly and Johnny were great, So knowledgeable and made the whole experience fun. We saw 2 Kiwi and got some great footage. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to go to Stewart Island.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Kia Ora Karen, Thank you for your recommendation. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Olly & Johnny.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time on the trip! Saw: yellow eyed penguin, blue penguin, albatross, brown skua, possum, morepork and 2 kiwi! The presentation was interesting and the staff are super friendly. I can't believe these reviews saying that just because the staff are young they're inexperienced....not at all true, they found and heard animals that no one else did! They heard, spotted and identified EVERYTHING. They were brilliant especially Erin. I went on another tour with Erin as the guide there too, (Ulva Island Guided Walk) and she found bellbirds, saddlebacks, robins, parakeets, tui, weka, blue penguins before anyone else even knew where to look.
Seeing the kiwi was incredible and made my entire trip, thank you!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jesssenior24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwis in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are delighted you experienced this with us. We pride ourselves with our people and so are very happy to hear Erin was knowledgeable, exceeded your expectations. We will be sure to pass on your feedback.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This was just an amazing time, from the background lecture to the additional things we saw like deer, albatross, penguins and of course the kiwi.

Have to say that I enjoyed the walk through the Forrest and clear moon and star filled sky so much.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dalerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Colm, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great experience.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Great trip run by qualified guides!
We left Stewart island at dusk and first reached the edge of a first island where we saw a yellow-eyed penguin (from far though, but since they are super rare, it’s better to leave them in peace!)
Then we reached another island and started walking super quietly on a track in the forest. We were 7 guests walking one after the other with 1 guide ahead of us and 1 guide behind us. I was walking just behing the first guide so I saw very well the female kiwi peacefully crossing the track. That was amazing! Then we exchanged places in the queue so everybody could get a chance to see the kiwi. We continued our way to a beach where we kept on looking for kiwis. The guides had special binoculars to see at night and that’s how they spotted a second male kiwi that we watched for maybe 5 minutes while he was searching for food. At that stage everyone was satisfied. We looked at the tracks of the kiwi and started heading back. While entering the forest, we saw a third kiwi, a young one. That was more than we expected!
All in all, a very good experience. The staff was friendly and qualified, and you can get partly refunded if you’re not lucky enough to see a kiwi.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Laura,
Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwi in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are so happy you chose to do it with us. Thank you for your 5 star review and and kind words. We will be sure pass it on to our stellar team.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We went on the first night of the season (September 1) and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Well, I was secretly hoping we'd encounter a sea lion on the beach but it's probably for the best we didn't. The guides demonstrated impressive knowledge, passion, and respect for animals and the environment. We learned a lot along the way, not just about kiwis. Also saw some of the best stars on our entire New Zealand trip since the area is so remote. Recommended for people who can endure a couple hours of walking and climbing stairs/trails stealthily. Not recommended for children, impatient people, or those who just want to get a selfie with a kiwi.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jenster229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Jenster,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you had a stellar experience and our guides displayed the knowledge, passion and respect we share for the wonderful place we call home.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews