We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful adventure”

Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience
Ranked #10 of 16 Tours in Stewart Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise at dusk to Little Glory Bay for an opportunity to encounter wild southern brown kiwi in their natural habitat. Depart Halfmoon Bay, Oban at dusk for a cruise across Paterson Inlet. During the cruise, pass Ulva Island (a predator-free sanctuary) and learn about Stewart Island's rich history. The walk, led by a nature guide, is on a track across the peninsula, through spectacular coastal forest to a secluded sandy beach. The track emerges on a wide sandy beach and as daylight diminishes, this is where Southern brown kiwi (Rakiura Tokoeka) are often found feeding among the grasses and seaweed. - Departures: Sep - May - Small group: 8 per guide, max 16 per night.
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This was just an amazing time, from the background lecture to the additional things we saw like deer, albatross, penguins and of course the kiwi.

Have to say that I enjoyed the walk through the Forrest and clear moon and star filled sky so much.

Thank Dalerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Colm, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great experience.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"split into groups"
in 3 reviews
"muddy conditions"
in 2 reviews
"magical experience"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 3 reviews
"johnny"
in 2 reviews
"shoes"
in 3 reviews
"bugs"
in 2 reviews
"kiwi"
in 22 reviews
"path"
in 3 reviews
"penguins"
in 4 reviews
"sea"
in 4 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"cruise"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Great trip run by qualified guides!
We left Stewart island at dusk and first reached the edge of a first island where we saw a yellow-eyed penguin (from far though, but since they are super rare, it’s better to leave them in peace!)
Then we reached another island and started walking super quietly on a track in the forest. We were 7 guests walking one after the other with 1 guide ahead of us and 1 guide behind us. I was walking just behing the first guide so I saw very well the female kiwi peacefully crossing the track. That was amazing! Then we exchanged places in the queue so everybody could get a chance to see the kiwi. We continued our way to a beach where we kept on looking for kiwis. The guides had special binoculars to see at night and that’s how they spotted a second male kiwi that we watched for maybe 5 minutes while he was searching for food. At that stage everyone was satisfied. We looked at the tracks of the kiwi and started heading back. While entering the forest, we saw a third kiwi, a young one. That was more than we expected!
All in all, a very good experience. The staff was friendly and qualified, and you can get partly refunded if you’re not lucky enough to see a kiwi.

Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Laura,
Getting out into the wild and viewing kiwi in their natural habitat is a once in a lifetime experience! We are so happy you chose to do it with us. Thank you for your 5 star review and and kind words. We will be sure pass it on to our stellar team.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We went on the first night of the season (September 1) and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Well, I was secretly hoping we'd encounter a sea lion on the beach but it's probably for the best we didn't. The guides demonstrated impressive knowledge, passion, and respect for animals and the environment. We learned a lot along the way, not just about kiwis. Also saw some of the best stars on our entire New Zealand trip since the area is so remote. Recommended for people who can endure a couple hours of walking and climbing stairs/trails stealthily. Not recommended for children, impatient people, or those who just want to get a selfie with a kiwi.

Thank Jenster229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Jenster,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you had a stellar experience and our guides displayed the knowledge, passion and respect we share for the wonderful place we call home.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Normally when it comes to pre-booked events I am unlucky. It had been a rainy day in Stewart Island and I feared the worst but the weather calmed before our trip, and a beautiful full moon lit our way. Pre boat trip our knowledgeable guide Ian talked us through about Kiwis. We boarded our boat (with another Ian skippering) and made our way to Little Glory Bay. The group I was with was understanding and appreciative, and walked through the bush quietly whilst Ian listened for Kiwi activity - unfortunately there was none and I started to think oh well I will not see anything. However once we hit the moonlit beach we quickly came across 2 hungry Kiwi. Ian kept them in his red light beam so we could view them without disturbing them although they seemed oblivious to us for the most part. We inspected their tracks and even some sandhoppers that been missed. I was excited to get close and get some great photos and a couple of films with only a standard digital camera. People have to realise that this is nature and not a game park. I feel privileged to have seen my views and hope everyone else is so lucky. Coffee and biscuits on the way home topped off the night. Thank you to both Ian's

Thank Bokke_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for this amazing review. We are absolutely thrilled to see how much you enjoyed this experience. You are absolutely correct in saying that this is nature and not a game park. Everything is run in a way to minimize our impact on the kiwi and allow people to observe in their natural habitat. It's great to have such an appreciative group and our guides do an amazing job in finding the kiwi and allowing as much time as possible with them. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the team here - they love getting great feedback! We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand was just as memorable.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

First time to see kiwi and they are so adorable. Maybe it’s a bit expensive but you also get lots of information from the trip. Highly recommend!!

Thank NicoleChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Nicole, Thank you for the recommendation. Seeing a kiwi in the wild should be on the 'must-do' list for anyone! We are delighted you enjoyed this wonderful experience.
Kind Regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience also viewed

 
Stewart Island, Southland Region
Stewart Island, Southland Region
 

Been to Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing