We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience
Save
Review Highlights
Opportunity of a lifetime

There are not many places in NZ offering the unique experience of seeing kiwi's in the wild and... read more

Reviewed 15 October 2018
Paradise826669
Amazing experience

What an incredible experience this trip was, and our guides really made it for us by being so... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Katherine P
,
Queenstown, New Zealand
Read all 39 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$104.10
More Info
from US$69.60
More Info
from US$34.50
More Info
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
26
5
0
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
5
0
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split into groups magical experience digital camera muddy conditions real journeys knew where new zealand boat trip great trip blue penguins johnny kiwi glory shoes guide binoculars robyn
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

These guys are careful not to promise that you will see a Kiwi and we were lucky and we did. It is a very cool experience but we did not appreciate that we would return as late as we did - 1.30am! That being said we got good value for money. I agree with an earlier poster that he was concerned about the inexperience of the guides. Both were new this season and I didn't get as far as asking about their "qualifications" and while they both seemed to know a lot about some wildlife I'm sure there are more experienced and able guides out there. I believe that Real Journey's bought this concession off another operator who developed the tracks and my guess would be that the groups that are being taken now are larger - and that; combined with staff who lack years of Kiwi experience can't be good for the kiwi spotting likelihood.

The guides were pleasant and enthusiastic and clearly cared both about the Kiwi and about ensuring that their customers had the best experience possible.

We had had the unpleasant experience of having our trip cancelled due to low tides. Real Journey's say that they only made that call that day and they believe that 5 hours notice is adequate. However they contacted us by e mail with 5 hours notice and it was lucky we saw the e mail. They seem to lack the organisation structures to collect mobile numbers for such matters and when they contacted us they did not make us aware of any arrangements for alternative bookings or refunds. We had to chase them for that. They have since apologised and the fact that we did have a great time when we finally went certainly made our day.

Would I do this trip again? I think I would try another operator ? What would I advise others to do? Do some research and be aware that there are other options.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

The tour started with a 30-minute presentation with facts about the kiwi. We then hopped on the boat and sailed to some nearby islands where we spotted penguins and other interesting birdlife. The sunset in Half-Moon Bay was amazing! We then went ashore to look for kiwis. We saw two of them, and they came really really close. It was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend it to my friends. Nice bonus: hot chocolate, tea, coffee and cookies are included in the trip. ;-)

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Elias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi there and thanks for the amazing review. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed this wonderful experience.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

This was a disapointing night with no views of kiwi - mainly because of unexperienced guides with bad field skills. Listening for the kiwi walking on the ground is essential to find these birds, but our guide did not even once take her time to listen carefully. Short stops lasting less than 10 seconds is not even close to enough to hear the birds - even if they are close. Same problem with her "scanning the beach with a flashlite-tactique".

We are experienced birders and realized very soon that this would go wrong, so we kept a little bit distance to the rest of the group to be able to listen carefully away from the sounds of moving people. The two of us heard a kiwi call and move on the ground BEHIND the group. The rest of the group did unfortunately not have any encounters at all and because of this we at least got a 50% refund.

There are other operators offering kiwi-trips on Stewart island and we absolutely recommend to choose one of them. They are run by more experienced birders and cost way less.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Terje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are disappointed to receive this low rating. We will definitely pass your comments onto the team however failing to see a kiwi on this trip is the exception, rather than the rule, hence why we are happy to offer the 50% refund for any persons who do not see a kiwi.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

I had no idea what to expect when I did this trip other than knowing that this was the best way to see a kiwi in the wild. Despite the bad weather making visibility and listening difficult, we kept to our guides and in the end we found one! A very worthwhile experience to see one in it's natural habitat, but more than that it was fun just tiptoeing through the woods and beach looking and listening and stalking the elusive kiwi. I highly recommend this trip while on Stewart Island.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for the review. We are delighted you experienced this trip with us despite not really knowing what it entailed. Seeing a kiwi in the wild should be on the 'must-do' list for anyone!
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

I went on this trip last Saturday night.
Arrived and it was a full group - oh no I thought.
But we were split into 2 groups for the walk but before we went on a cruise to look for wildlife, so much to see little Blue Penguin’s swimming in the sea. Yellow-eyed walking on the beach and 50+ Albatross flying and swimming in the sea.
Then we arrived at dark for the kiwi walk a nice walk through the Bush (nice path) to the beech. First we saw a male on the beech walking quite quickly came within a 30 ft of use. Then as we retraced the path back to the boat we came across a young female kiwi in the bush feeding we waited and watched it for over 20 minutes and it came to within 2 ft from use - AMAZING!!
I would recommend booking before you arrive as it sells out very quickly. A lot of money but worth every dollar!

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Julia, Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed this wonderful experience.
Kind regards - The Team at Stewart Island Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews