We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Magical experience

We really enjoyed this trip. Our guides were great and we managed to find 2 kiwi. One in the bush... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
FranciscaM944
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Absolutely awesome kiwi encounter

Our guide found a kiwi on the bush walk at night and then for 45 mins it walked all around us and... read more

Reviewed 18 February 2021
madfisher44
,
Papamoa, New Zealand
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Stewart Island
from US$148.20
More Info
from US$36.49
More Info
from US$73.73
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
48
7
1
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
7
1
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews introductory talk biscuits yellow eyed penguins magical experience sea lions milky way return boat trip bush walk late night great trip path kiwi gabriel guide grace wildlife hoppers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 64 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2016

I have no words to explain the wild kiwi encounter! Very surreal – currently basking in a post kiwi glow (that is a thing).

We hadn’t been on the track for long and a kiwi came up to one of the ladies in our tour group and nibbled at her shoes. We all got to watch and then it scampered off into the bushes. We thought that was it and then it came back for a second nibble!! Followed by it strolling (like a rock star) through the group and back into the bushes. It doesn’t even sound (or seem real) but that happened and I’m slightly jealous that Stewart Island locals see kiwis on such a weekly basis.

The walk through the forest is really incredible. As you cross through to Ocean Beach from Little Glory Cove you can hear the waves crashing which builds the excitement for what you might see along the beach. For us it was ‘only’ in the form of a juvenile kiwi scampering along quickly, but it’s pretty hard to beat our encounter from earlier in the night and it’s hard not to be satisfied already. There are plenty of fresh kiwi foot prints along the beach so it’s easy to see they mustn’t be far away and are in an abundance. The late night is certainly worth it for wild encounters like that.

Definitely a must try when you're in Southland!!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank PenelopeHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Wild Kiwi Encounter and how you are 'basking in a post kiwi glow'. Seeing a kiwi in the wild is something truly amazing and we are glad that you chose to go on this excursion with us to see one for yourself!
We trust the rest of your holiday was just as rewarding.
Regards, the Stewart Island Experience team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Kiwi Encounter - Stewart Island Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC