We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”

Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$316.70*
and up
Heli Scenic Soaker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Staff really friendly, great that there is a shuttle service from the town. Only thing is we didn’t start right on time and took them about 10 minutes to get us sorted so felt like we didn’t get our full hour. However thoroughly enjoyed it and the views are amazing.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 20Nicky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi 20Nicky89,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing.

As we operate on tight time schedules we do our best to ensure that guests always receive exactly what they have paid for, if you were 10 minutes delayed going into your pool session, we can always guarantee that your session time wouldn't start until you enter your pool room and you would still receive a full 60 minutes. We're sorry if we didn't communicate this to you properly.

We are always hard at work to make sure our team delivers on our brand promise and every customer has a positive experience.It's great to read that both our staff and the views delivered on expectation.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shotover river"
in 139 reviews
"private pool"
in 34 reviews
"retractable roof"
in 23 reviews
"pamper package"
in 20 reviews
"ultimate relaxation"
in 17 reviews
"spa room"
in 16 reviews
"roller door"
in 15 reviews
"my partner"
in 76 reviews
"perfect end"
in 14 reviews
"clear night"
in 19 reviews
"time slot"
in 14 reviews
"amazing views"
in 50 reviews
"town centre"
in 14 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 30 reviews
"visiting queenstown"
in 27 reviews
"new zealand"
in 30 reviews
"tub"
in 74 reviews
Filter

70 - 74 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Loved the private hot tub!
Great view and seeing the jet boats going past was a treat. My husband ordered a wine. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!
It was a rip off. The glass was tiny with an inch of wine for $9.50.
You get a candle, water and snack - he got a bag of chips, which is a good deal but he regrets choosing wine over the beer. He would have had at least 2/3 more to drink if he chose the beer. You get at least half of what they show in the picture. So my advice is dont get a wine, go for another drink.
Apart from that it is a neat experience and reccommend treating yourselves.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi Lynley M,

Thank you for your recent review,

As previously mentioned on many reviews, we do not have a liquor licence therefore we are unable to sell alcohol independently, this is strictly down to health and safety advice around dehydration and overheating whilst bathing in a hot pool. We do offer a complimentary glass of alcohol which is measured out at the legal requirement for the volume of alcohol per glass when not licensed.

We try our best to accommodate the requests of all our guests but also ensure that your health and safety come first.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the rest of your Onsen experience.

Thanks again for your feedback, we are listening.

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The hot pool spa was fabulous. Really pretty and relaxing with the roof open even though it was freezing outside. Would also be a great way to finish off a day skiing or walking. The only negative is they charge you for towels which I think is a terrible idea.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Frostles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Frostles we are so grateful for your feedback!


Thanks so much for rating us 5 stars.

In regards to towel hire, we do charge $3 for spa towels, the reason for this is due to sourcing our spa towels from a local provider in Queenstown as we do not do laundry onsite. You are more than welcome to bring your own towels with you if you choose to visit us again.

We'd have to agree that having a spa when in winter is a fabulous idea.

Thanks again,

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to visit, nice and relaxing.
We booked the Tandeki which was beautiful, and the pool was lovely on a cool night.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Inspiration601133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.

We are beaming with pride knowing that we hit the mark and delivered on everything that we promised.


We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Terrible customer service. "Manager" refused to admit that they communicated to us insufficiently even though we made changes within the policy listed in the confirmation for our "ultimate relaxation experience". Not so relaxing by the end of the evening. On top of everything he blamed us for not understanding how their business operated even though we were tourists and it was our first time there.

In summary, we were left with getting blamed for not getting sufficient information by the management, paying more and threatened to be kicked out for trying to find a resolution amicably (no cursing, no voice raised).

Onsen and massage experience was decent (thus the 2 stars). Water is not hot enough for "Onsen Hot Pool" and do not expect the 5-star facilities you would imagine it to be with the price you pay. The only decent thing is the starry view (if not too cloudy).

For the luxury price you are paying, do not expect the luxury treatment and customer service.

Never normally post reviews but my experience at this establishment warrants sharing so that other unsuspecting customers are not taken in the same way!

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank AvelineS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Hi Aveline S,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent visit with us.

It is disappointing to read such comments as we have an excellent history of customer service as proven by our internal and external guest feedback.

To clarify, you booked two Ultimate Relaxation Experiences (1 x 2 person and a 1 x person) with us which were reserved and available to you on arrival. However, on arrival you decided to all go into the one pool and wanted to cancel the second pool. Due to heating and other operational costs incurred with each booking we have a cancellation policy which requires 12 hours notice and therefore the cost for the unused pool could not be refunded. The pool was not resold and was available for you during this hour.

If we can assist you any further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on custservice@onsen.co.nz

Sincerely,

Jess Reavley and The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing