We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
A TripAdvisor Member
74
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place to visit, nice and relaxing.
We booked the Tandeki which was beautiful, and the pool was lovely on a cool night.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.

We are beaming with pride knowing that we hit the mark and delivered on everything that we promised.


We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shotover river"
in 131 reviews
"indulgence package"
in 44 reviews
"private pool"
in 33 reviews
"retractable roof"
in 22 reviews
"spa room"
in 15 reviews
"roller door"
in 15 reviews
"pamper pack"
in 13 reviews
"my partner"
in 69 reviews
"time slot"
in 14 reviews
"clear night"
in 17 reviews
"staff were lovely"
in 15 reviews
"amazing views"
in 48 reviews
"town centre"
in 13 reviews
"unique experience"
in 14 reviews
"visiting queenstown"
in 25 reviews
"new zealand"
in 29 reviews
"tub"
in 68 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible customer service. "Manager" refused to admit that they communicated to us insufficiently even though we made changes within the policy listed in the confirmation for our "ultimate relaxation experience". Not so relaxing by the end of the evening. On top of everything he blamed us for not understanding how their business operated even though we were tourists and it was our first time there.

In summary, we were left with getting blamed for not getting sufficient information by the management, paying more and threatened to be kicked out for trying to find a resolution amicably (no cursing, no voice raised).

Onsen and massage experience was decent (thus the 2 stars). Water is not hot enough for "Onsen Hot Pool" and do not expect the 5-star facilities you would imagine it to be with the price you pay. The only decent thing is the starry view (if not too cloudy).

For the luxury price you are paying, do not expect the luxury treatment and customer service.

Never normally post reviews but my experience at this establishment warrants sharing so that other unsuspecting customers are not taken in the same way!

2  Thank Aveline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Aveline S,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent visit with us.

It is disappointing to read such comments as we have an excellent history of customer service as proven by our internal and external guest feedback.

To clarify, you booked two Ultimate Relaxation Experiences (1 x 2 person and a 1 x person) with us which were reserved and available to you on arrival. However, on arrival you decided to all go into the one pool and wanted to cancel the second pool. Due to heating and other operational costs incurred with each booking we have a cancellation policy which requires 12 hours notice and therefore the cost for the unused pool could not be refunded. The pool was not resold and was available for you during this hour.

If we can assist you any further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on custservice@onsen.co.nz

Sincerely,

Jess Reavley and The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My daughter booked this tour and we both thoroughly enjoyed every second of the experience that Onsen offered. We had had heaps of snow the night before and even getting there was an experience. The snow covered mountains right down to the waters edge was magical. The hot pool was awesome, the bubbles to go with it fantastic. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely go back.

Thank mkskupch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi mkskupch,


Reviews like this fuel our hearts and make us try better every single day.

Thank you for your kind words and for giving us a high five for all that we do. It is truly nice to know that our efforts are paying off.

Reviews highlighting the commitment of our people to serve every customer with passion reaffirm that we are indeed living up to our mission statement.


Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing!

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It was amazing, booked in for twilight time slot and the views were spectacular. Great experience. Enjoyed some lovely NZ wine and ice cream. So glad we visited

Thank shell822017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi shell822017,

Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let us know how we are doing.

We're so glad you had an amazing time with us and managed to secure that very popular sunset session! Your review makes a difference to us and it is incredibly helpful as a way to introduce others to what we do here.


Thanks again.

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This was so lovely - we had a 10pm time slot on a cold winter evening, and the hot pools were divine. The wall was retracted and the stars were brilliant over the moonlight valley below. It was a GREAT experience!

Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kristine T,

We wanted to take a moment to thank you for telling us more about your experience with us.

We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations in more ways that we could have ever imagined - It's even better when the night is clear and you get the perfect evening experience possible!


Thanks again for rating us such high marks!

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing