We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery as you take time out to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Onsen Hot Pools

Onsen Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Beautiful scenery as you take time out to relax”
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After some of the crazy activities you can do in Queenstown, this is a perfect way to unwind with a beautiful view. Recommend the Tandeki - which includes a glass of wine, icecream, oil burner and towels. Such a lovely experience and perfect for a special occasion.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank KirstenBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    209
    51
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Wow!”
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're looking for a quiet time away with your sweetheart in a hot tub overlooking the stars with a glass of wine, then this is the spot for you! This was a very relaxing and romantic spot that leaves you feeling very refreshed, especially from the cold temperatures outside. Very friendly service. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the experience.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank kooltravel3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hour spent in the hot pools”
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here on a cool autumn day and spent an hour in a hot pool. Lovely experience, I just wished we had booked earlier so we could have come at night and star gazed.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem of an experience”
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my fourth trip to QT, but first discovery of the Hot Pools. Such a good value experience for couples. It is just beautifully set up. We did an evening experience and it just felt so private. Even though it was jet black outside with cloud cover, it felt misty and romantic. So i would have no hesitation saying this is good every time of the day.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not to be missed. Very romantic and relaxing. It is worth paying for extra time as an hour goes much too quickly. Staff were friendly. The view is beautiful!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kara-and-Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing