We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hour spent in the hot pools”

Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hour spent in the hot pools”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We came here on a cool autumn day and spent an hour in a hot pool. Lovely experience, I just wished we had booked earlier so we could have come at night and star gazed.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2017
Hello, Liz G

We are so glad to hear you had a superior experience when visiting our Pools.

We hope to see you again soon for an evening experience!

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    225
    53
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A gem of an experience”
Reviewed 16 April 2017

This was my fourth trip to QT, but first discovery of the Hot Pools. Such a good value experience for couples. It is just beautifully set up. We did an evening experience and it just felt so private. Even though it was jet black outside with cloud cover, it felt misty and romantic. So i would have no hesitation saying this is good every time of the day.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2017
Hi Courtney A,

We are so delighted you found us!

We also happy to hear that your purchase exceeded your expectations. Online feedback is precious to us and we are thankful you took the time to let us know about your experience with us. We hope we become a regular part of your Queenstown visits!


Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Not to be missed. Very romantic and relaxing. It is worth paying for extra time as an hour goes much too quickly. Staff were friendly. The view is beautiful!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kara-and-Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2017
Thanks so much for your review Kara-and-Dylan,

We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your Onsen experience and took time to yourself to sit back and relax. We're delighted that our staff are all we expect them to be!

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Very ROMANTIC”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Very very romantic. Service at front desk is great, all the ladies were very nice and helpful.
But the room is to die for.... pictures spell 1000 words

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
We are extremely grateful for your review L N!


We believe that business is all about people and the greatest compliments we can receive are those that highlight the commitment of our staff to deliver the best possible service.
It is great to know that we were able to provide you with the highest levels of service.

We will be sure to share your review with our team on our next staff meeting.


Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun way to relax for an hour”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I was a little unsure how much I'd like this; I love hot tubs but I wasn't sure how much the mountain views would factor into it. While the mountains are beautiful, they are the same mountains you see in town. However, what I found more interesting is listening to the birds and the bees and enjoying the sounds of nature while in the hot tub. While it's complete privacy visually, you can hear your neighbors. Not well enough to discern conversations but the sound of them opening their window, the jets, and loud laughter. Shuttle was very convenient. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys hot tubs.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Aparna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2017
Dear Reviewer,

We are so delighted you took the time to try us. We are even more delighted that we were able to be all that you expected us to be. Online feedback is precious to us and we are thankful you took the time to let us know about your experience with us.


Thanks again for your visit,

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing