We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Onsen Hot Pools

Onsen Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not to be missed. Very romantic and relaxing. It is worth paying for extra time as an hour goes much too quickly. Staff were friendly. The view is beautiful!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kara-and-Dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    209
    51
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Very ROMANTIC”
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very very romantic. Service at front desk is great, all the ladies were very nice and helpful.
But the room is to die for.... pictures spell 1000 words

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun way to relax for an hour”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was a little unsure how much I'd like this; I love hot tubs but I wasn't sure how much the mountain views would factor into it. While the mountains are beautiful, they are the same mountains you see in town. However, what I found more interesting is listening to the birds and the bees and enjoying the sounds of nature while in the hot tub. While it's complete privacy visually, you can hear your neighbors. Not well enough to discern conversations but the sound of them opening their window, the jets, and loud laughter. Shuttle was very convenient. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys hot tubs.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Aparna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“STUNNING!”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only a short journey from Queenstown and from the moment you arrive until leave...quality! Waiting area/reception recently revamped with charging area! The hot pools them self with view...unbeatable along with men/women's shower/changing facilities also revamped.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Romance with a view”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Onsen Hot Pool staff treated us like royalty during our private tub session. Beautiful view with amazing treatment. 10/10

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing