We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STUNNING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Onsen Hot Pools

Onsen Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“STUNNING!”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only a short journey from Queenstown and from the moment you arrive until leave...quality! Waiting area/reception recently revamped with charging area! The hot pools them self with view...unbeatable along with men/women's shower/changing facilities also revamped.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    209
    51
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Romance with a view”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Onsen Hot Pool staff treated us like royalty during our private tub session. Beautiful view with amazing treatment. 10/10

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely stunning and breathtaking views of stars and mountains. Accompanied by wine (of our choice or any alcohol ), chocolate (or ice cream and water). It was a beautiful and relaxing experience! Only down side, you get asked to be there 15mins early, we got let in 15 mins AFTER our booked start time and still had to leave on the booked leave time (so only 40-45mins actual time in the spa)

Overall, Amazing experience and worth the $$$

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely great quality pools with awesome views but chlorinated”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only gripe is that its chlorinated which I didn't expect. other than that we had a great hour in the pool, its a quality place all around. The atmosphere is just perfect, they can provide drinks and snacks too if you order. A happy birthday sign was a nice touch. The lighting is great too so it makes everyone..even me.. look ok! :)
just the chlorine thing... if I had known that would I have still gone.. probably not, not for the price and time anyway.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank friedlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing views ”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I come here during our honeymoon . We had the candlelight indulgent package and it was amazing and so relaxing. The water was a little hot for our liking but there was a cold water tap that helped cool it down. The view was amazing as the sun started to come down. Would highly recommend!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank tagraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing