We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our trip”

Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 16 March 2017

My partner and I came here on our final night. It was the perfect way to unwind after an adventure filled holiday! Although it was an overcast night the views are still amazing and relaxing. Both my partner and I felt really relaxed after this experience. Highly highly recommend!

Thank Beccajanexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hi Beccajanexo,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our service.

It is good to hear that we were all you expected and more. It is because of feedback like yours that we are able to confirm that we are heading in the right direction.

Thanks again for such high marks, we're really glad you enjoyed your time with us!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
There are newer reviews for Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 1,157 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
5
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

My sister and I came here, as the result of a change of plans. It was easy to book online and the staff were friendly and professional. We loved our own private tub with amazing views, can't think of a better way to spend an hour. We have both said we will be back.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our business.

Our staff is constantly hard at work finding ways to exceed customer's expectations and provide seamless service.

We are so glad our efforts are paying off and you had the opportunity to experience superior service.

Thanks again for giving us a pat on the back!

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

During a visit to Queenstown for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, my wife and I visited the Hot Pools. Being able to open the roof and sit looking out over the valley as the sun set was one of the best experiences of our trip. The setting was great, the staff were very accommodating even giving us ice creams due to the pool not being available when we arrived. I would recommend paying a visit to anyone visiting Queenstown.

Thank paulmcdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hello, paulmcdougall,

We are so glad to hear you had a superior experience when visiting Onsen,
Our common goal is to constantly strive to deliver the most unique spa experience we can.

Your review serves as a confirmation to all of us that our efforts here are making a difference.

Thanks again for taking the time to write up your experience with us.

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We were a group of 14 girls on a hens weekend and started our trip with a visit to Onsen, wow! We booked 4 pools and it was the most perfect way to start our weekend. We ordered the $12.50 package that included a wine, chips and a towel and sat back and watched the shotover jet pass by.

TIP- arrive early as it takes a while to process your drink & food order, but probably because we were such a large group.

1  Thank SMITIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

WOW! We can't begin to tell you how nice it is to hear words of encouragement appreciation and praise.


We are so delighted to hear that your purchase exceeded your expectations, and hope that we helped create special memories on your hens weekend!

Thanks again for giving us such high marks!

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

So relaxing, spas were at the perfect temperature, staff were friendly, amazing views as well, get to watch the shot over jet as well during the day!

1  Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hi Crystal E,

We are so delighted you took the time to try us.
We are even more delighted that we were able to be all that you expected us to be.


Online feedback is precious to us and we are thankful you took the time to let us know about your experience with us. We hope you had an amazing Honeymoon.

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing