We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Soaker”
Review of Onsen Hot Pools

Onsen Hot Pools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset Soaker”
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My partner and I visited Onsen on a Saturday evening - WOW! The view from the pools is spectacular & the staff were friendly & accommodating. We opted for a snacks package which included a glass of sparkling wine & icecream & although a little overpriced, it definitely added to the experience. The space was very clean & well maintained & the pools are pretty damn hot! My only complaint is that the only way to cool the water down is a jet of cold water that shoots out of the ceiling directly into the spa - but we loved it & highly recommend it, it was super relaxing & a great way to wrap up our time in Queenstown.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank peteyreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools, responded to this review, 15 March 2017
Hi peteyreid,

We are ever so grateful for your review, and thanks for giving us such high marks!

We are constantly hard at work doing everything we can to deliver high quality experiences to every one of our customers. It is thanks to customers like you taking the time to tell us what we are doing right that we are able to constantly strive for excellence.

You are able request a temperature change at reception if it is required, we find the over-head water feature to be a little more thrilling!


It is good to know that our team exceeded your expectations and made your experience memorable.


Thanks again for your visit, we hope to see you soon!

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    217
    53
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A must do in Queenstown!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This place is beautiful! The rooms are beautiful and very private. I wish I went again. You are given the opportunity to have drinks and snacks. I don't think they could improve on anything!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank jmwhite2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
jmwhite2017,

We are ever so grateful for your review!

Your words of encouragement and your assessment of our services make us deeply proud of what we are doing. It is great to hear that we were all you expected and more!

Thanks for visiting, we hope to see you again soon

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it! Couldn't stop taking pictures!”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The landscape is beautiful as is the ambiance created by the wonderful staff. The pools are perfectly warmed. I highly recommend.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank MichG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
MichG10,

We are so grateful for your feedback!

We recognise that at the core a business is about people. With that in mind we are always on the lookout for staff that is passionate about what they do. It is great to know that we were able to provide you with the highest levels of service.

We hope to see you again.


Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“super relaxing”
Reviewed 4 March 2017

One of the best hot pools Ive been too, it was so super relaxing, amazing view, but just a bit expensive.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank nztraveller138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Hello nztraveller138,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your opinion with other community members. We are constantly hard at work doing everything we can to deliver high quality experiences to every one of our customers, to know that we are one of the best hot pool facilities you've been to, truly means a lot.


Please visit us again.

Your Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My husband and I were picked up in town by one of the staff members and taken to the Hot Pools not too far away. We waited for about 5mins for our room before we got to experience the views and the hot pool. There were lovely packages (food, wine, beer) for purchase to accompany your soak. When our time was up we were taken back to town again. A lovely, relaxing experience which we would definitely do again.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapitifourx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnsenQueenstownNZ, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools, responded to this review, 13 March 2017
Dear Kapitifourx4,

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We want every single customer that walks through our doors to experience the same level of service. Your opinion is valuable to us and helps us shape everything that we do, it is because of feedback like yours that we are able to confirm that we are heading in the right direction.


We look forward to your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

The Onsen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onsen Hot Pools also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Onsen Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing