We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and good food”

Tanoshi Teppan and Sake Bar
Ranked #12 of 297 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Description: A teppan and sake bar located in central Queenstown offers a fun and intimate dining experience. Host Keita Yoshimura offers extensive sake, whiskey and Japanese cocktail menus with Kirin lager on tap. Chef Minori Yoneda presents traditional Japanese cuisine from the teppan grill and has assembled some contemporary interpretations of Japanese classics. Open for lunch and dinner to late night grazing - Tanoshi, meaning 'fun' will entertain and delight
Restaurant details
Description: A teppan and sake bar located in central Queenstown offers a fun and intimate dining experience. Host Keita Yoshimura offers extensive sake, whiskey and Japanese cocktail menus with Kirin lager on tap. Chef Minori Yoneda presents traditional Japanese cuisine from the teppan grill and has assembled some contemporary interpretations of Japanese classics. Open for lunch and dinner to late night grazing - Tanoshi, meaning 'fun' will entertain and delight
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We tried one dinner time here and the place is small so would suggest anyone else to get there early. They only have ramen at lunch so will be disappointed if you crave for ramen at dinner. We went back the next day for lunch and was not disappointed with their ramen with grilled pork topping - the best I've had. Prices are not that expensive so for a family of 4, this is a good choice for us.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank pocahontas2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

I went here for a “quick” bite to eat for lunch. I ordered the vege bento box takeaway which includes a salad, rice, vege dumplings, teriyaki tofu and vege croquettes + a miso soup. It took over half an hour to make and when I finally sat down to eat it, I discovered there were no vege dumplings but crumbled prawns instead. I am not a hardcore vegetarian but if I was, I would have been raging. It would be nice to not have meat included in a vegetarian dish. Rice was stoggy and salad underwhelming. Will try the ramen next time.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 529melissaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019

We popped in late one evening and enjoyed this hidden gem. The food was delicious, including nice Gyoza and pork katsu and other things we tried tapas style. My dining companion had never tried sake before so the waitress brought out four huge bottles for him to taste test and narrow his selection with. I am pretty sure the sample sizes were big enough to get him drunk before he ordered any! Lovely explanation of the sake and great service. We had a fun night and the place is obviously a local favourite as many regulars told the staff how much they loved them while leaving. Would definitely return next time I am in Queenstown.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snakefang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

Very small restaurant so book in advance. great gyoza ...but not your tradition Japanese cuisine.if you are looking for terrace chicken and rice maybe found somewhere else. Definitely try it really quaint.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Trip564341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

We are super fans of Tanoshi and as Queenstown locals we are lucky enough to visit regularly, the food is fabulous and the service so attentive and friendly. We also send our guests and all return saying how much they loved the food and experience. Today we had lunch at the new Tanoshi Iko, it is such a fabulous option for eat in or take out. Gorgeous bento box for my husband and I had the most beautiful ramen. Looking for lunch or dinner you must experience Tanoshi. Something simple or a great take out option do Tanoshi Iko

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank suzyqtnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanoshi Teppan and Sake Bar also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Tanoshi Teppan and Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing