We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
77
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
77
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts perfect stay amazing views gavin privacy accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2023 via mobile

An amazing bed and breakfast just 10 minutes from Queenstown. Simone and Gavin are the perfect hosts with just the right mix of privacy and care and attention.
Accommodation is top notch with amazing views and all the amenities you would want. Fabulous views and very peaceful. Breakfast choices were fabulous the extra sweet treats thrown in by Simone were am added bonus. The hosts knowledge of local eateries and wineries was phenomenal. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 516julient
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2022

We had the most welcoming and wonderful experience, thanks to the warm and friendly hospitality of Simone and Gavin. Breakfast was great and room was well-equpped and thoroughly clean, not to mention the spectacular view of the beautiful surroundings from the room and the deck. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Only one suite avaiable. You need your own transport.
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank giantbike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2021

We recently spent two nights at Alpine Retreat. The owners, Gavin and Simone, are genuinely lovely kiwis and went above and beyond in every respect (from unexpected treats to local recommendations to everything else). We liked it so much that we ended up extending our stay. We have been traveling around NZ for almost three months and this was our favorite B&B by a long way. The property is very quiet and peaceful with beautiful views out over the mountains and lake. The room is spacious and has its own kitchenette, living room and deck. But you have access to the owner's main home including a jacuzzi, sauna, large deck and lovely cats. We highly recommend the Alpine Retreat, the level of service has been unsurpassed during our New Zealand travels. Thanks Gavin and Simone!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank diloga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2021

The Alpine Retreat is a stunning property, with gracious, old-world style hospitality from Simone and Gavin. They offer a truly unique experience, including many thoughtful touches, and excellent recommendations for all sorts of activities you can enjoy in the region. Their delicious and generous breakfast spreads set you up for a day of exploring the region, or relaxing with a book while enjoying all the property has to offer.
While only 10 minutes from Queenstown, The Alpine Retreat feels beautifully secluded and peaceful, nestled on a hillside surrounded by the attractive gardens full of very active birdlife.
It's impossible to overstate just how highly we recommend The Alpine Retreat as a place to stay, and Simone and Gavin as hosts. We can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank DariaWillNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Simone and Gavin made our stay so special. They were welcoming and the experience was so personal and warm. They always went out of their way to make sure that we felt comfortable.
Simone had amazing tips and recommendations for the best spots in Queenstown! Our room was beautiful - we had a private balcony and kitchen. It was rainy for most of our stay so we were delighted to find that we had access to many channels on the tv (and netflix) plus Spotify to play music at night while we had a wine on the balcony. The king size bed was also great.
Simone and Gavin cook a beautiful breakfast with plenty of options. Home baking is also provided which is delicious!!
Honestly... I could not reccomend this place enough. We will be back for sure!! Thank you again xxx

Room tip: quiet, best views, private
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahemmabain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews