We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Class”
Review of The Bunker

The Bunker
Ranked #14 of 265 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hidden away down a back alley in the center of Queenstown behind a rustic old wooden door, The Bunker offers discreet and intimate 'rustic' fine dining – specializing in red meats, game and local produce with a distinctly New Zealand flavour complimented by crackling log fires, intimate atmosphere, personal service and an impressive wine list. Our Cocktail Bar upstairs from the restaurant offers hand crafted classic and modern cocktails and an extensive wine and premium spirit list in a cosy lounge atmoshere which welcomes guests right through to the wee small hours. Wowing locals and visitors alike for over a decade with superb cuisine, friendly and knowledgeable service and a unique atmosphere, The Bunker is certainly a Queenstown experience not to be missed. PRIVATE DINING ROOM AVAILABLE FOR LARGE GROUPSDiscover The Bunker – Queenstown's best kept secret since 1997.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

This is a gorgeous restaurant hidden away down cow lane. I'm so glad a family member recommended it. If you like fine dining and a dark fabulous atmosphere this place is for you. Yes it's pricy, but it's absolutely worth every dollar. You don't feel like you're in New Zealand. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. They also have a fantastic bar upstairs!!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank georgettep858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 571 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

My mates and I had dinner at the bunker last week service was very good and the food was very tasty we all ordered different mains and we were all happy with them
Worth a look but you need to book in advance very busy not many tables

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank holmesearth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Words cannot describe how good the food was here...
We only actually came here because a lot of other places were closing so we decided to try this out...
I'm so glad we did, we actually didn't realise how "fine dining" this place was, but it was great.
The service we received was top notch, like I said the food was great, yeah slightly expensive but well worth the money.
The staff were a credit to this place. We would 100% return next time we are in queenstown.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank DarthReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Came here for a nightcap with friends after dinner. This is an awesome bar where you can relax by the fireplace or pull up a stool at the bar. Cocktails were beautiful, can't wait to come back!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had booked a table for a 9:15pm. We had arrived 30mins prior to have drinks at the roof top bar which was great, the cocktails were spot on. Once we had finished our drinks we went down to the restaurant at 9:10, the wait staff mentioned that the Diners who had our table, were just finishing up so we decide to get another drink. By 9:15 the patrons did pay, however instead of leaving they sat back down at the table. Come 9:40, they still hadn't left. At this point we were starving and tired; having had a big day on the slopes. Decided to close our tab, and the only thing the wait staff said was they have paid for their bill...
At no point did the service staff speak to the customers after they've paid, and say that the table was required and should they wish to have more drinks they were welcome to have drinks at the bar upstairs. This is normal practice for busy restaurants.
Very disappointed

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank SydneyChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bunker also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.