We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar in Queenstown”
Review of The Bunker

The Bunker
Ranked #14 of 265 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hidden away down a back alley in the center of Queenstown behind a rustic old wooden door, The Bunker offers discreet and intimate 'rustic' fine dining – specializing in red meats, game and local produce with a distinctly New Zealand flavour complimented by crackling log fires, intimate atmosphere, personal service and an impressive wine list. Our Cocktail Bar upstairs from the restaurant offers hand crafted classic and modern cocktails and an extensive wine and premium spirit list in a cosy lounge atmoshere which welcomes guests right through to the wee small hours. Wowing locals and visitors alike for over a decade with superb cuisine, friendly and knowledgeable service and a unique atmosphere, The Bunker is certainly a Queenstown experience not to be missed. PRIVATE DINING ROOM AVAILABLE FOR LARGE GROUPSDiscover The Bunker – Queenstown's best kept secret since 1997.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

If you want great cocktails made by awesome people go here you don't get all the drunk backpackers and its just off the main street open till 4am everynight the only bar to go to!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank TrueCrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 615 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016

Decided on a recent visit to Queenstown for a workshop that I should yake my wife out to dinner. Now, where to go? Checked a local blog and The Bunker came up. Roaring fireplace and romantic setting sounded good - easy to book, so up we rolled.The decor was as described, we had the degustation, and picked an option each where two were available for any course. The food was great, really tasty and varied, fresh ingredients. But the wine match was outstanding! Absolutely perfect selections complementing and uplifting the food, and vice versa. I have never had such a perfectly matched degustation, in New Zealand or anywhere else in the world. Service fantastic, waiters and sommelier knowledgeable, great value for what we got as well.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drstu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Cossy little atmosphere on the roof top. Plenty of warmth provided by the fires and great bartenders to recommend drinks and food.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank nackfath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Looking at reviews on trip advisor I didn't know if it could live up to its reputation it did and then some. Fantastic food and the service was great! 10/10 if you get the chance definitely take it. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank MitchM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

After dinner drink
Busy little place with lots of cool people
Nice place to hang and take in the aprè feel

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank pats-rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bunker also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bunker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.