We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal. Try the Lamb!”

Roaring Megs Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 297 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Searching for the perfect NZ Lamb dish? Then look no further than Roaring Megs, this unique little restaurant will not disappoint! Established in 1981, Megs has continued to lead the field by being the only restaurant in the area to receive 20 consecutive NZ Beef & Lamb Gold plates(incl. 2018) and win both the recent Central Otago Lamb Dish of the Year and NZ Beef & Lamb Peoples Choice competitions. Megs unique menu has distinct European/NZ influences and the Rack of Canterbury Lamb and Lamb Cutlets with Confit are must tries whilst in Queenstown. The atmosphere and Victorian decor is the perfect setting for a romantic, candlelit dinner or group get together. Arrive before the sun sets for a Remarkables view.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice meal! Tender lamb chops, frittata and vegetables in a cozy setting with attentive, friendly service.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JoeyWhoWhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t understand how this place gets such good reviews. It was a cross between eating in your grans living room and fawlty towers. There was 1 waitress trying to do front of house and serving everyone, not her fault but service very slow and chaotic. Seating seriously uncomfortable. Starters were well over-priced and very small. Mains of lamb and hare very good but again expensive. We didn’t stay for dessert as it was so slow. There are much better dining options in Queenstown.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank cmac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall 3
Food 3.5
Atmosphere 3
Service 4

Of all the places I visited in Queenstown, this place had the most calm, classy atmosphere with candle lights, chandelier, and Elizabethan taste decor. The staff was very kind and helpful. The selection of wine was well-balanced. The food was good old French.

One thing we were surprised about, however, was that the restaurant appears to separate the Asian crowd and the Western crowd in different rooms. I was with an Asian group and everyone in our group noticed the striking difference in the treatment immediately. Not that we were treated poorly or in a demeaning manner, but we were put in a room full of other Asians whereas all the other Westerners were in another room. It was very weird.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank monikaoyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us as one of the best restaurants in New Zealand for lamb. We weren't disappointed, we had the confit of lamb shoulder and it was delicious. I was a bit surprised to see only two lamb dishes on the menu, but I suppose it's better to do two things very well than to dilute the effort. The service was friendly and efficient, and the price was reasonable for the quality. My only criticism is that for such a nice restaurant they could have splashed out on more comfortable chairs.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

We had a lovely dinner here on the 23rd of December. We hadn't made a reservation, but they managed to find us a table even though they had a very busy night.

The soup we had for starters were not especially exciting, but the main course (sirloin steak) was delicious.

The staff was welcoming and accommodating.

Will happily visit again.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janandtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roaring Megs Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Roaring Megs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing