We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!”

The Bathhouse Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 297 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Bathhouse restaurant is a historical gem from 1911; its regal crown-like architecture is like nothing else in Queenstown. You’ll find us right on the beach along Marine Parade, with a sunny deck overlooking Lake Wakatipu and a nearby playground so you can keep any eye on the kids while you relax. A cosy fire will keep you toasty inside in Winter as you sip on hot Mt Rosa mulled wine, or cool down with a crisp local wine or beer in Summer (before you take a dip in the lake?!). We’re open for breakfast, fresh scones, lunch, coffee (including takeaway), and sharing platters and diner
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was delicious, the view and people watching for a solo traveller fabulous and the staff lovely and friendly - highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Jojos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous sat on the gravel beach of the lake!taking in the majestic view! Drinking cold beer watching the world go by!!we ate cold meat platterand cheeses which was really nice!the waiter service was good!they were in no rush!!though I will say you probaby need to book a table!! We were lucky!!but lots of people came after and we're turned away !!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bartonjess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited New Zealand for 2 weeks, and Bathhouse’s dishes are the best so far!

Food:
-Slow cooked lamb shoulder! MUST TRY! the lamb was so tender & juicy! Just love the dishes so much! I usually do not eat lamb, but this dish totally change my mind towards lamb. Really the best dish!

-Slow braise beef cheek! Also taste so good! The beef was perfectly cooked to medium and it was crispy on the outside while juicy and tender inside!

-Fish of the day! Taste great & perfectly cooked again! And the sauce just right!

The presentation was so good & portion is generous! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Staff were helpful & friendly as well. I booked a table outside originally, however, the weather was so bad & it kept raining for the whole day, the staff helped me reserve a table inside the restaurant instead. And they told me: we’ve got you covered! Everything just right here!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Belleparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Stopped by for a coffee and caramel oat slice (10/10 would recommend). Friendly staff and a great view of the lake

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank iovdamunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

We popped in here most days over a four day stay,most times for refreshments and cheese platter, brownie for the kids etc. a little short staffed but friendly service and no rush to kick you off. The location is to die for, recommend having a glass of champagne and sitting back and enjoying the view w

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bathhouse Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bathhouse Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing