We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Queenstown Snowmobiles tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Queenstown
from US$95.00
More Info
Skydive Queenstown
1,089 Reviews
from US$210.30
More Info
from US$266.60
More Info
from US$200.50
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow mobiles helicopter ride awesome experience snowsuits gloves gear adventure pilot activity flight mountains
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Having spent most of my life in the Queenstown area I was looking for an adventure with a twist. This trip was just fantastic , flying through the snow capped mountains with Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters Pat and Matt and the team were very professional and I felt very safe. Then onto the Snow Mobiling this was an experience like none other. Snow Mobiling in some of the most majestic scenery in the world , snow capped mountains everywhere . The bikes themselves were fun and easy to ride . Everyone must do this if you are visiting Queenstown area it will be something you will never forget. If you want a real adventure story to tell everyone then this is it. Best day ever , regards Gavin Hawke

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Gav987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Loved this activity. We were incredibly lucky the day we went as there had been a fresh fall of snow. Riding over mountains with blue skies and powder snow was amazing.

The staff are safety conscious, but fun and the snowmobiles surprisingly powerful. Changing facilities are basic, but ok. I opted to wear the snowsuit provided over my ski gear, and was plenty warm enough. It's best to keep phones in inside pockets, as both our phones wouldn't work due to the cold! The helicopter ride to get up to the snowmobiles was also interesting and the pilot took time to tell us a little about the area on the way there and back. Super fun and a definite holiday highlight.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank 1000Heidi1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Great, awesome, fun, thrilling, and worth every penny. We thoroughly recommend this activity to those looking for a winter alternative to skiing or snow boarding or just looking for an adrenaline rush or need for speed type thing. Safety was at the forefront with our guides and every level from beginner to experienced was catered for. The scenery was outstanding, the snowmobiles were easy to use, and you got the feeling of being out in the wilderness too. Groups are kept to six only which meant you were not held up by a large group. The helicopter flight to and from the Garvie mountains site was great as well and very scenic. The pilot was informative and friend!y as was our guide.
We will definitely do this again!!!!

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank QueenstownGroupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015

A little bit overpriced for what you get. Can't say it's worth the $835...$500 would be more like it.
Helicopter ride was really good, very safe. I expected a little more adventure style riding on the snowmobile.
Girls at the desk were lovely, and the guide was informative and pleasant.
Not a horrible experience.

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Rach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We have been lucky enough to do many activities around the world, and this would be up there with the best. The day we did this, we were lucky to have a perfect winter’s day - deep blue sky and pristine white snow.
Check-in process at the Heli base located at Queenstown airport was quick and not too complicated. Obliviously there are forms to fill out and safety briefings to go over. The staff there was helpful and friendly.

After taking off from the airport you travel up and over The Remarkables to the Garvie range . The flight time was just under 15 minutes. Spectacular views along the way and even better on the return flight as you fly back towards Lake Wakatipu.

Arriving at the snow mobile base you feel like you are landing at an Antarctic expedition base. The snow mobiles were lined up ready for our tour.
The gear is all first rate and was basically brand new. The provided overalls were super warm and they also have boots, gloves etc if you need them.

A quick briefing and demo by the excellent guide, Ed, and then we had a 5-minute training session out the back of the base on a figure of 8 course. The snow mobiles require ‘active riding’ as you need to shift your body weight to keep the tracks flat on the snow while turning. We all felt comfortable after that, including my older son who rode his own. My younger son rode on the back of Ed’s snow mobile and enjoyed the experience as well. We have a fair amount of experience with jet skis and this helped a bit.

From there we were off! Firstly we set off North for 10 minutes for a photo op. From this position we could see Mount Cook in the distance. We then set off South. The views were stunning; you would come up over a rise to see another mountain range in the distance.

The snow mobiles have heated handlebars which make it very comfortable on a brisk winter’s morning.
All in all I was very impressed. It was a true adventure, but also very professionally run, with excellent safety procedures and equipment. Ed was an excellent guide and very passionate about his job.

Even though we had our own rental vehicle we opted for pick-up from the hotel, this was also prompt and efficient.
Although it is an expensive experience, if you are thinking of having a scenic helicopter flight during winter in Queenstown I would highly recommend it as you will get that along with the snow mobile adventure.

We would do it again without question.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Kiwi_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews