We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best empanadas outside of Chile”

The Empanada Kitchen
Ranked #64 of 296 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Of Spanish origin, empanadas are pastries stuffed with many delicious fillings. At The Empanada Kitchen we take pride in using premium quality and locally-sourced products whenever possible. We focus on Spanish, Italian and South American-inspired flavour combinations, relying on a wealth of experience and family recipes. Try our own delicious sauces made to compliment the empanada flavours.
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

If you’re in Queenstown and a bit peckish after rafting/jetboating/lugeing/bungy jumping or whatever gets you hungry then you’ve got to try the empanadas at The Empanada Kitchen on the lakefront.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Dhux64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2018

Amazing value! and always great service! One of the cheapest snacks in town and definitely the most tasty! Different flavors every time I go and it's always hard to chose which one to take! Keep up the good work matey!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank GeordieManners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

A small store; easy to miss and close to the waters, that only sells Empanada. Ask the owner what goes well with which empanada and his eyes will lighyt-up and he will be more than happy to share his suggestions

We tried the beef and chicken one and both were delicious

A must.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ozzy-Kunnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Loved these empanadas. Our favourite was the Napoletana, but others were also fantastic. So good we were back for another within 5 minutes and had them two days in a row! Great location on the Queenstown waterfront.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thehumancompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Delicious empanas, we tried the cheese and ham, yummy!!, the owner is very friendly, 100% recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank claudiam837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroViale, Owner at The Empanada Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Many thanks Claudia for your review of us. We really appreciate your feedback and are so happy you love our empanadas. We change the flavours every day so there's always something new to try! Best wishes, Mauro & Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Empanada Kitchen also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Empanada Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing