We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diane H

Amazing rooms - overall property extremely lacking

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024
Room was terrific. View was spectacular and we loved the in-unit laundry and spacious rooms. The staff was very nice and our room was very clean. If it weren't for these things, we would've switched hotels. Parking is free, but, only around 20 spots and they have to be pre-booked. If you can't get into the parking garage, you park across the road and up the hill. Getting to offsite parking is an uphill hike using the same path construction vehicles use and then cross a very, very busy road without pedestrian crossing. It's the human version of Frogger. I'm not sure how anyone with physical limitations could handle this walk. No restaurant on property, so the options are to walk 35 minutes to the nearest restaurant, the shuttle that runs once an hour (only 9 seats available), drive or Uber somewhere. The lobby is in the middle of a hallway.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Book parking in advance or prepare to walk across a dangerous road Book shuttle in advance
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We're pleased to hear that you loved our rooms, the spectacular view, and the in-unit laundry. It's great to know that our staff and the cleanliness of your room met your expectations.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding parking and the challenges it presents. Your safety and comfort are important to us, and we will look into ways to improve this aspect. We're also sorry for any inconvenience caused by the lack of an on-site restaurant and the lobby location.

Your feedback is invaluable, and we'll strive to enhance these areas. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide a better experience.

Best regards,
Santiago
The Oaks Shores Team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$360
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $308
  • Expedia.com
    $359
2.2 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $444
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $445
0.2 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $297
  • StayForLong
    $292
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Official Hotel
    $155
1.7 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Restaurant
Room service
$319
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $276
  • Expedia.com
    $319
4.3 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$249
  • Tripadvisor
    $249
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $249
3.3 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
$289
  • Tripadvisor
    $289
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $293
1.9 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$274
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $231
  • Algotels
    $293
3.6 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel reception
$199
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Algotels
    $202
1.8 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$195
  • Tripadvisor
    $194
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
3.4 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
581
405
209
147
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
581
405
209
147
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen walking track lake view apartment two bedroom apartment shuttle bus amazing views large balcony gas fire serviced daily lake wakatipu washing machine and dryer shuttle service living area walk into town fireplace heating nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Room 505.
This place is one of the most beautiful spots we've ever stayed, we've travelled the world and Queenstown is judt Magnificent. The appartments/ roomsat the Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort were beyond our exceptions, spacious, clean, comfortable, free parking, friendly staff, full kitchen, dining room, lounge room, laundry with washer and dryer, close to all attractions, expansive views of the lake and the Remarkables and the Hot Tub just an added extra that we used every day eve when it was raining lol. I would recommend the Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort to anyone thinking of a visit to Queenstown.

Room tip: Corner appt is definitely the only way to go...
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort. It's great to know that you found the accommodations spacious, clean, and comfortable, and that you enjoyed the amenities like the full kitchen, laundry facilities, and hot tub. We're glad our friendly staff and convenient location added to your enjoyment of Queenstown. We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon for another memorable stay!

Santiago from The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Not a great start to our holiday. The outside is like a demolition site. Cab driver refused to drive through the obstacle course to reception. So had to drag our luggage down very steep driveway and steps. 4 of us, all in our late 60s/early 70s. Reception in a very narrow corridor with nowhere to sit. 40 minutes early for check in so taken to "the lounge". Lounge was in a portacabin with very daggy torn leather chairs. The floor was covered in water, apparently because it had been raining and the portacabin leaked.

More stairs to enter 2 bed penthouse apartment. The views were stunning and the apartment well furnished and clean. The bedroom curtains had to be kept closed as was overlooked from the driveway.

We tried to book the shuttle bus in plenty of time one morning to go into Queenstown but it was fully booked as only 9 seats. It was raining and a 35 minute walk along a lake walk or a very busy main road. I asked if it could do another trip but was told by a stroppy receptionist (supervisor I think) that it was a "courtesy", not included in our room rates, which were very expensive, and basically it was tough luck. 3 trips per morning with 9 people each time is not enough for an apartment complex with absolutely no amenities on site. The shuttle bus drivers, especially David, were accommodating and friendly.

Don't expect a lie in as every morning we were woken up by drilling and hammering. This was definitely underplayed in the notification about the building works.

Our balcony had a shattered glass panel when we arrived which wasn't repaired while we were there. Good job we didn't have young children with us.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank O469NUsusanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We regret that the construction work impacted your arrival experience and the condition of the lounge area did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the shuttle service and noise disturbance are duly noted, and we will address these issues internally to improve our services. We appreciate your compliments on the stunning views and cleanliness of the apartment. Rest assured, we take your concerns seriously and will work diligently to enhance the overall guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay.

Santiago from The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Worst 3 night stay EVER, we arrived to find a building site, no restaurant, no breakfast NOT even a bottle of water.
Initially when we arrived our room was clean and well and presented, however after that no housekeeping, bed not made and bathroom never cleaned in 3 days. They provided clean towels along with a letter telling us that they had staff shortages so would not be providing any housekeeping services.
So basically we were charged over $330NZD per night JUST for a bed.
The staff were atrocious
The parking was a nightmare
The shuttle bus was sporadic, we asked at 11 am for a lift into town but were told the driver had gone for lunch and would not be back until 5pm....REALLY a 6 hour lunch break
Do yourself a favour and give this place a miss

Room tip: Everything about this hotel sucks
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anne_MarieM775
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

We apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your stay. It's disheartening to learn about the issues you encountered, including the construction, lack of amenities, and poor service. Your comments regarding housekeeping and staff behavior are concerning, and we'll address them internally to ensure improvements are made. We understand your frustration with the shuttle service and parking situation and will work to rectify these issues. We value your feedback and will use it to enhance our services. Please accept our sincerest apologies, and we hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.

Santiago from The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

We stayed 3 nights in a 1 bed Lake view apartment on the 3rd floor and it was stunning - the best place we have ever stayed. The apartment was spacious, well appointed, with a magnificent view. All staff were cheerful, friendly and informative. The Oaks is situated on the Lakeside walk - an enjoyable stroll into Queenstown. We loved it here and would move in if we could!

Room tip: WiFi a bit slow
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Suehes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Dear Suehes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay at our lakeside apartment. It's wonderful to know that you found the accommodation spacious, well-appointed, and enjoyed the magnificent view from the 3rd floor.

We take great pride in providing exceptional service, and we're thrilled that our staff made a positive impression on you with their cheerful, friendly, and informative assistance.

Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we're honoured that you consider our place the best you've ever stayed. While we can't accommodate your wish to move in permanently, we'd be more than happy to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay whenever you're in the area.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024

5-star view with motel service level. Really pathetic with no dining options nor central laundry service. Inconsistent wifi connectivity. Looks like we were living in a major construction site. Insufficient parking facilities and we got a parking fine for roadside parking. In fact, we have cancelled 3 remaining nights as we manage to secure another hotel accommodation in central Queenstown. We are AVC members and we are extremely disappointed. Btw. check out time is at 10.00 am

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Getaway43931541294
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

We apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced during your stay. It's regrettable to hear about the issues you encountered, including the lack of dining options, inconsistent Wi-Fi, and construction disruptions. We understand your frustration with the parking situation and the early check-out time. We'll address these concerns internally to improve our services and facilities. As an AVC member, your feedback is valuable to us, and we'll strive to make necessary improvements. We're sorry we couldn't meet your expectations this time, and we hope you'll give us another chance to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Santiago from The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews