We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Flora M
Hong Kong, China

Hotel rooms inside a construction site

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Aug 2023
We booked a 3-bedroom apartment with Oaks Queenstown way in advance in February (for staying in August) and have not been informed or updated about the construction underway.

Upon our check-in, we were told that our room is located at Block 1. The receptionist showed us a layout of Oaks Queenstown and highlighted the route from the reception to Block 1 and mentioned in the passing that there was a "little bit of mess" in the car park area.

We tried to look for a signage to Block 1 after getting into the car park area but there were conflicting signages pointing at different directions. Then we saw a staff in construction uniform and asked for assistance and she helpfully took us to Block 1. To our surprise, the staff led us to a construction site and was told that it was the only way to go to Block 1. As you can see from the photos, there was a big red signage saying "DANGER" so basically Oaks Queenstown is putting me and my family in grave danger. There were also dangling wires and cables everywhere.

I just noted that the official website of Oaks Queenstown mentioned that there is a construction underway but Oaks Queenstown hold out that the construction "will present little if any disruption to hotel guests". I do NOT agree. Oaks Queenstown is in fact putting all Block 1 hotel guests in danger as we would need to go INSIDE a construction site without any protection gear day in and day out. Carrying suitcases up and down the stairs inside a construction site is also ridiculous!

In my opinion, the whole Block 1 should not be used at all. When we came back from dinner the other night, we were horrified by the darkness of the pathway and a family member almost tripped!!!
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Do NOT consider this property before the construction is completed.
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this review
Responded 1 Sept 2023
Dear Cupiee,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

Please accept my apologies that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations. I regret that we were unable to meet our high standards during your recent stay.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team and action will be taken to ensure the issues you experienced are corrected moving forward.

We are committed to providing memorable experiences with exceptional service and therefore we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve on your experience in the near future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your time in sharing your feedback.

Best regards,
Oaks Shores Queenstown Resort Team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$360
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $360
  • Agoda.com
    $306
  • Hotels.com
    $360
2.2 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$445
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $446
  • Hotels.com
    $445
  • Priceline
    $445
0.2 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
Fully refundable
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $297
  • StayForLong
    $290
  • Priceline
    $297
2.3 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Entrance
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Official Hotel
1.7 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Restaurant
Room service
$319
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $319
  • Agoda.com
    $277
  • Priceline
    $319
4.3 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$253
  • Priceline
    $253
  • Expedia.com
    $253
  • Hotels.com
    $253
3.3 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel reception
$199
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $199
1.8 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
$274
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Hotels.com
    $228
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$289
  • Priceline
    $289
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Vio.com
    $289
1.9 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel exterior (seen from the water taxi)
$178
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $178
3.4 km from Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Queenstown
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
581
405
209
147
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
581
405
209
147
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen walking track lake view apartment two bedroom apartment shuttle bus amazing views large balcony gas fire serviced daily lake wakatipu washing machine and dryer shuttle service living area walk into town fireplace heating nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2023

We booked via booking.com & had no warning of the construction and how this would impact our stay.

The room was nice however, the bed was against the wall which was beside the corridor. Noise was exceptionally bad at night, making it difficult to sleep.

The parking is also extremely tight, especially for those with bigger vehicles. We struggled to find a park when we arrived in the evening and received little warnings about the difficulty to turn and the lack of parking.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank gemmaclydesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2023

Hello Gemmaclydesdale,

Through booking.com we have published the construction details and pictures of each room showing the construction view to let people know what they're booking. If you look at your proof of reservation in Booking.com you'll see those pictures attached.
The parking is an additional service we do offer for free to our guests but is not included in the stay, parking is always subject to availability. During winter season the demand is very high and naturally our car parking is really busy.


Hope I asked your questions.

Kind regards,


Oaks Shores Resort Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2023

We booked this apartment for our daughter's birthday and she enjoyed that very much and we had a really good time there. We would love to visit there again in future and get the same experience with our family

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Gaurav2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear Gaurav2807,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience through our Guest Satisfaction Survey.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional guest service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.



Best regards,

The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

Booked a room for 4 nights, got there to check in and they advised that we needed to checkout after the first night at10am and check back in at 2pm because they had essentially over booked. Additionally, they should advise people on the website that there will be construction/power tools being used from 7:30am and they won’t be able to sleep in on weekdays - prices should be adjusted accordingly as well.

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank th0mash477
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Dear th0mash477,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey.

Please accept my apologies that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations. I regret that we were unable to meet our high standards during your recent stay.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team and action will be taken to ensure the issues you experienced are corrected moving forward.

We are committed to providing memorable experiences with exceptional service and therefore we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve on your experience in the near future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your time in sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

The Oaks Shores Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2023

The website claims “little if any disruption to hotel guests”. If you regard an entire side of your room being covered in scaffold, and having workers hold meetings and use power tools outside your bedroom and lounge room as little if any disruption then you’re in the wrong game. This room should not be used while construction is underway and it’s questionable if the block should be.

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank T8919HDjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2023

Dear T8919HDjd,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Please accept my apologies that your overall experience did not live up to your expectations. I regret that we were unable to meet our high standards during your recent stay.

Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team and action will be taken to ensure the issues you experienced are corrected moving forward.

We are committed to providing memorable experiences with exceptional service and therefore we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and improve on your experience in the near future.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your time in sharing your feedback.

Best regards,

Oaks Shores Queenstown Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2023

I enjoyed my stay, the heating worked well which I was most happy with being a frosty time to visit. Like the access via Frankton walkway, nice staff, great stay. Would have been happy with hot choc in the tea coffee tray, enjoyed the stay over all.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank bonfonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Relations Manager, Other at Oaks Queenstown Shores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Dear Bon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience through our Guest Satisfaction Survey.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional guest service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.



Best regards,

Oaks Shores Queenstown Resort Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews