We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$639
Priceline
$639
Sofitel
$639
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,953)
Filter reviews
1,953 results
Traveller rating
1,392
372
120
40
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,392
372
120
40
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews left bank the club lounge prestige suite luxury room steam room the general manager beautiful hotel middle of town central location new zealand per day heated floors south island tv accor lake fergburger
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,953 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

So comfortable, in the heart of Queenstown! Really lovely accommodations; I have to say, the heated bathroom floors were divine. This was a great home base as we explored Queenstown - walkable to the waterfront, Skyline, dining and activities.

Be prepared that there is construction in the area - didn't impact us except with parking. Options are to self park at the garage near by or have them valet for $50/night. We valeted which was wonderfully convenient, but expensive.

We also enjoyed the on site spa, they had availability the day before and it was a highlight of our trip!

Room tip: Think about your parking plan - valet is pricey but convenient!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamieclower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Bonjour / Kia ora Jamie

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review! We're delighted to hear that you found our accommodations luxurious and enjoyed the central location in the heart of Queenstown. We're thrilled that the heated bathroom floors added an extra touch of comfort to your stay.

It's fantastic to know that our location served as a great home base for your exploration of Queenstown, with convenient access to the waterfront, Skyline, dining, and activities. We appreciate your understanding regarding the construction in the area and the impact on parking.

We're pleased you took advantage of our on-site day spa and that it became a highlight of your trip. We understand that valet parking can be a bit pricey, but we're glad to hear it was wonderfully convenient for you.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sofitel Queenstown!

Warm regards,

Philip Riley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023 via mobile

The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms are very nice. I had reserved a room with a Juliet balcony, but was not provided with one. I would say that the staff themselves are perhaps not quite as strong as at other similar properties. This may simply be a function of being in Queenstown, but there certainly were some challenges in terms of front desk requests and at breakfast. Overall, I would suggest that this is a good choice in Queenstown, but is perhaps slightly lacking in terms of service with respect to the brand and the price point of the hotel. I would still recommend staying as the hotel is well appointed and exceedingly well located.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Bonjour Travbud1

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're pleased to hear that you found the hotel and rooms lovely. However, we sincerely apologise for the oversight regarding the Juliet balcony reservation not being fulfilled, if you had brough this to our attention I am sure the team would of been able to assist you. Your comments about our staff and service challenges are noted, and we appreciate your honest assessment.

We are committed to addressing the areas you highlighted to ensure a more seamless and enjoyable experience for our guests. Your insights are invaluable in helping us improve, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention.

We're glad to know that, overall, you consider our hotel a good choice in Queenstown, and we truly appreciate your recommendation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, providing an even more satisfying stay.

Best Regards,

Philip Riley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023

Stayed 3 nights in the ‘Prestige Suite’ with ‘Remarkables View’, at an average cost of NZ$812 per night.

Let me start with the positives – the hotel is in a good location right in downtown Queenstown. It was very easy to get to all the sights. The room was clean and a good size (noting it was a suite), with good bathroom. Staff always were friendly.

The Ok stuff – the hotel’s décor was dated, including in the rooms. The bedroom lighting was extremely dim, and although there were sufficient power points they were hidden away behind bedside tables. There was a ‘boil water’ notice for drinking water in Queenstown, and while the hotel provided boiled water in bottles, more bottles would have been helpful without have to require them from reception.

The bad – the suite assigned, room 412, was essentially at street level, with people constantly walking past the windows meaning there was zero privacy if you left curtains open. There were garbage bins directly under of one of the windows. The ‘Remarkables View’ advertised was not easily glimpsed from the main windows, instead could be seen from the corridor side of the suite and were mostly hidden by buildings opposite. Tried to book laundry service on Friday for delivery Saturday night, but was told that due to a public holiday on Monday no laundry was available until Tuesday; which surely isn’t acceptable for a 5 star property. The laundromat elsewhere in Queenstown managed to be open, which is where I ended up spending my Saturday morning.

The verdict: This hotel is not up to a 5-star standard. The Prestige Suite assigned while well sized, is very poorly located within the hotel, and the supposed view that it is sold with – one of the reasons I chose the room – was essentially non-existent, while other windows/juliet balconies unusable due to being directly on street level.

Ultimately I was left very disappointed with the hotel considering the cost.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Bonjour Mr Fattal.

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay with us here on Trip Advisor and on Google. We truly appreciate your review as it helps us identify areas where we can improve our services and facilities.

We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel's location convenient and our staff friendly. However, we deeply regret that your experience did not meet your expectations, particularly in relation to your stay in a suite. I would like to note that I do not see any record of feedback during your stay that could of rectified some of you issues you have raised.

We'd like to address your points:

Positives:

* We're glad you found the hotel's location ideal for exploring Queenstown.
* Your appreciation of the room's cleanliness, size, and the bathroom is noted.

Areas for Improvement:

* We appreciate your comments on the decor and lighting, and we will certainly consider these aspects in our ongoing efforts to enhance the guest experience.

* We apologise for the inconvenience regarding the 'boil water' notice and will work on improving communication and provision of essential resources.

* Your feedback on the suite's location and the view is valuable to us. We will reevaluate our room description.

* We're sorry to hear about the laundry service issue, unfortunately our laundry service is the sole laundry operator in our rural town and is a third party provider and we are bound to their times of operation.

Your feedback is essential in helping us improve, and we are genuinely sorry to have left you disappointed, especially considering the cost of your stay. We will use your comments constructively to make necessary enhancements, and we hope that you would consider giving us another chance in the future.

If you choose to return, please feel free to contact myself directly on any hotel channel / email or phone and we will ensure that your next experience is more in line with your expectations.

Thank you for providing your insights, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Philip Riley
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2023

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philip Riley, Other at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews