We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,653)
Filter reviews
1,653 results
Traveller rating
1,185
314
105
30
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
314
105
30
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleft bankprestige suitecoffee machineluxury roomturn down servicethe general managersteam roombeautiful hotelseparate showerin townperfect locationnew zealandbreakfast was includedper dayour honeymoonheated floorssouth island
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,653 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Very courteous staff. Great big rooms, and toilets. Go for the mountain facing higher category rooms. We stayed here 5 nights and didnt have a single complaint. We were celebrating our 7th anniversary and were given complementary upgrade to suite (also helps if you're accor plus member) and the personal wishes of each staff on the card was very touching. Their care and warmth stand out. The nespresso machine in the room is a big plus. Great breakfast place (left bank) and Lounge (1789) on site. Yes, they charge $50 vallet for car park but the public parking is 100 meters from hotel. Very comfi beds and quiet place for sound sleep. Views of mountain and wakatipu from room was awesome. Keep up the good work

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chiripal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_TorresG-, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Bonjour Chiripal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a lovely time with us and that our Ambassadors diligence was a stood out to you during your visit.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Elizabeth Torres
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed here and enjoyed every second of the service at the hotel. Breakfast was perfectly handled and the intimate bar at night was great also, check the Manhattan made perfect by Keith and hang around for some live music.
Others that were super were: Elizabeth (our hostess), Laura and Rei in the breakfast bar (whatever you want, they will get you... within reason) and everyone at the front desk.
Some might not like the fact that the views of the lake, well they are not so great at all. However, the location is perfect for walking around being a part of Queenstown- you really don't need a car or driver when you stay here unless you plan on going away from Queenstown for some day trips etc. GREAT LOCATION!
We would FOR SURE stay here again.
The only drawback was they were doing construction in the lobby when we were there and it was a little of a distraction- it would have been nice to get a heads up on the construction.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank buyjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_TorresG-, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Bonjour Buyjohn1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely comments with us.

It was my pleasure to look after you and I am absolutely thrilled to know that your time with us was Magnifique.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to Queenstown.

Kindest regards,

Elizabeth Torres
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We chose the hotel for the convenient location but I wouldn’t stay here again.
Whilst the rooms are clean, spacious and absolutely fine, it’s not special.
Staff say bonjour at all times of day which is odd even if it is a French themed hotel.
We were also misquoted on the price for storing luggage which was disappointing.
Staff told us a price but didn’t explain that was per day. Needless to say, it’s a perfectly OK hotel but I’ve stayed in a better motel in Queenstown since.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank miss-b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_TorresG-, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Bonjour Miss-b20,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to continuously improve, therefore your feedback is very valuable to us as we strive to continuously improve. We will take your constructive feedback on board and hope to have the opportunity of better serving you in the future.

Sincererely,

Elizabeth Torres-Green
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Positives-
Located very centrally
Friendly very helpful staff
Good breakfast
Comfortable spacious room
Easy vehicle set down and pick up.
Negatives-
No parking (constant hassle chasing street parking or pay parking [$18 a day] station 200metres away or $50 a day valet parking).
Very few rooms have a good view (try for floor 5 or 6 at the front)

Many guests would arrive by hire car, as we did. If the hotel had its own parking I would give five stars.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Warwick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_TorresG-, General Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Bonjour Kyzyk,

Thank you very much for sharing your constructive feedback with us. .

I am delighted to know that our Ambassadors' attentiveness stood out to you during your stay and rest assured I will be sharing your review with our Management Team.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Torres
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

My partner and I came to Queenstown from Australia for the June Long Weekend.
It was my first time in New Zealand and it was amazing.

We arrived at the hotel in the afternoon and were greeted my incredibly friendly staff who were lovely enough to give us an upgrade.

We were escorted to our room and we were amazed by the decor and the luxurious feeling of it. There was even a dessert platter sitting there waiting for us to eat. The spa bath was definitely a favourite as was the tv also in the bath.

Being a relatively cold time of year, the room was incredibly warm and it was in a great location, we were able to walk anywhere as everything in the town was so close.

This hotel was by far one of favourites that we’ve stayed in and would definitely recommend if anyone is looking for 5 star service and rooms.

Queenstown was beautiful and we would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JAM2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth_TorresG-, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Bonjour JAM2795,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa.

I am absolutely delighted to know you had a memorable stay and that Ambassadors were a highlight during your time with us.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Torres
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews